Hard Things to Tell Your Mother: I’ve Changed My Major A Million Times!

6 Nov

Changing majors is to be expected. You are now living within a community of knowledge. Nearly every building at the University is filled with scholars pushing the limits of their field of study. You are bound to find something that interests you more than you guessed when you were in high school. Or maybe you discovered the subject you thought was right isn’t really for you.

I have changed my major several times. I came to the university as a Political Science major. The fit seemed to be there, but at orientation, I decided to make the radical change to Systems Engineering. Don’t ask me why because I don’t know. I soon realized that vector calculus and physics weren’t for me. I was a Communications major for a bit, then found an affinity for Philosophy, so I added that minor. Then, I added English Literature as a minor. Eventually, I became disenamored with Communications, so I dropped it to a minor and bumped my Philosophy to a major. I later dropped Comm all together and bumped English Literature up to a second major. Now, I’ll be graduating with a degree in both Philosophy and English Literature. You thought I was kidding with the title of this blog, didn’t you?? It may seem like a lot of trouble, but…

Finding a field of study that truly fascinates you will help you in the long run.

Yes, you should think farther into the future and consider what it is you want to do with you life. You’ll typically find that aligns itself when you find the right subject. Every major has difficult courses, no matter how much anyone tries to argue this point. Try putting a physics major in an advanced moral theory course, or a sociology major in a biochem course. Different strokes for different folks. You need to do what makes you happy, this will help you through the rougher times in your major when you are pulling all-nighters and fighting for study rooms in the library.

Mom might have wanted something different for me, but no matter what, she’ll be happy that I am happy.

Leave a Reply

