A Holiday Tradition- Moon Cookies

30 Nov

almond-crescent-cookies

My family may not be very big, but there is one thing we all are and we all do.. We are loud and we always have something to eat during the holidays. Every since I can remember, the holidays at my house have been filled with loud conversations and food.  In particular, holiday cookies. Now, I know that might seem like a little thing, but in my family cookies are the end all be all of the holidays. Every grandmother has a traditional cookie recipes, that heaven forbid not be eaten in mass quantities and of course there is always my mom’s experimentation with a new cookie recipe every year. Like I said… Tons of cookies.

Even though the cookie recipes may come and go, there is one cookie that is the staple of the holidays and has firmly held the top spot for over twenty years now… Grandma’s Moon Cookies. This isn’t actually the real name of the cookie, but when my siblings and I were younger, we forewent using the real name and decided to call the cookies as we saw them… They are in fact shaped like crescent moons, hence the name “Moon Cookie”.

These cookies are not your normal holiday cookies. My Hungarian grandmother makes them from scratch and of course the main ingredient is always a secret. (To this day I don’t even think my dad knows). Whenever grandma comes for the holidays my brother who is 23 now, my sister and I (21) always know she is bringing those little powder sugar covered moons.

I am not sure if it is the ingredients or just the time of the year when family and friends are all together and everyone is laughing that makes the cookies so good, but whatever it is, I wouldn’t trade that those cookies and the holidays for the world.

Almond Crescent Cookies Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of butter, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of almond extract
  • 2 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1 cup of almond flour (can substitute ground almonds*)
  • 1/4 cup of powdered sugar for sprinkling

*You can use slivered, blanched almonds and grind them up, but you will have a very crumbly, hard to work with dough. It’ll still taste good though.

Method

1 Cream the butter and the sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the extracts and mix.

2 Add the flour and almond flour. Mix thoroughly.

3 Take generous tablespoons of the dough (it will be slightly crumbly) and roll it into a small ball, about an inch in diameter, and then shape into a crescent shape. Place onto parchment paper and bake at 350°F for 15-20 minutes or until a light golden brown.

4 Dust with powdered sugar.

For added decadence let the cookies cool and dip one end of them into some melted chocolate, then let the chocolate harden.

Yield: Makes 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Leave a Reply

