Sophomore Midterm Study Tips

22 Feb

(video)

With Spring Break two weeks away, midterms are fast approaching. We all know we have those moments where we frantically study the night before for a big test, but truth be told we shouldn’t be doing it this way. I know that my freshman year I really didn’t know how to study for big tests.

I just decided to wing it and hope for the best. As you can probably guess I really didn’t do well on my tests. Shocker? No, not really right?

It was tough to get through my freshman year and adapt to the college setting, but I have learned from my mistakes. I try really hard to study the best I can before an exam. Do I sometimes slack off and not do what I’m supposed to? Yes! I do, BUT, honestly, it’s never worth it. It’s never worth it because I set myself up to fail, and I know I’m a much better student than that. So that’s why I’m here to share some of the success tips that I’ve learned since I’ve been in college.

1) Go to class: I know sometimes it’s tempting not to go to class, but we just have to pull though it and GO. We’re here for one purpose and one purpose only – “EDUCATION.” So go to class!

2) Write notes on paper! Especially for me, it’s better to kick it old school and use paper and pen. You’re physically writing notes down, causing you to be more active in class. It might help you remember the material better. Added bonus: you won’t get distracted by your laptop.

3) NO Phone = NO distractions! Put your phone away! If you don’t physically have your phone in your hand or pocket, you can’t get distracted!

4) Setting: Study in a place where you won’t be easily distracted!

5) Flashcards: Flashcards are my best friends. They help me memorize important dates, vocab, and I also get to quiz myself.

6) Study Groups: Study groups can be extremely helpful because you get to ask questions you don’t understand that way if your fellow classmate knows the answer they can help you!

7) Give yourself a break: Take a break! Don’t try to jam everything at the same time!

I hope these help a bit! I do this every time midterms are approaching and it seems to work! Here a couple of videos of other study tips from other students around the country. The entire Student Affairs Outreach staff wish you the best of luck on your exams!

(video)

One Response to “Sophomore Midterm Study Tips”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Study Diagnosis: What Tips Are Best for You? | Student Affairs Outreach - April 10, 2013

    […] Sophomore Midterm Study Tips […]

Leave a Reply

