Where’s my money?

27 Feb

You know the phrase “there are not enough hours in the day”? The same could be said about the money in your bank account. But just like how you learned time management skills, it is also possible to learn about money management. When I moved out of my parents house, I had to consider expenses like food, rent and utilities. How was I going to keep up my wardrobe? Or entertain myself between study sessions? It was time to become fiscally responsible for myself, and here are some ways YOU can do the same.

Flying Money

The best thing to do first is to get together a budget. Having a budget, and keeping an accurate calculation of that budget, is very important. One of the worst feelings you can ever have is finding out you ran out of money for the semester (trust me).

The office of Financial Aid & Scholarships is a great resource for  cash management tips as well. I always knew they could tell me how much money I had, but I didn’t know they could show me how to use it. It proved to be very helpful. Especially when dealing with the Bursars Office. It’s important knowing how much money you have, but it’s also important to know how much money you owe.

With Spring Break right around the corner, I want to take some time to mention safe money practice. If you notice you have lost your debit/credit card, call your bank or credit company immediately! Let them know the situation so they can freeze your account to avoid any fraudulent charges. Also, if you decide to go out of town and plan to use your bank card a lot, give your bank a heads up. If they notice that your card is being used differently that you normally use it, they may suspect that your card has been stolen and freeze your account.

Leave a Reply

