Grades Don’t Define Who You Are.

29 Mar

BADGRADE

When I was in high school, getting good grades was very important to me. Even if I was getting a B, I knew I had to try harder to make it an A. I had to be the perfect student. Grades were a big part of who I thought I was.

When I arrived at college, things began to change. The transition was a bit rough, the workload and assignments were a lot more challenging. I had a hard time keeping up with it all and I did not get the grades I  wanted. At the end of semester when grades came out,  I ended up with a D in a class and I was devastated. That was the lowest grade that I had ever received. I felt like a failure. But, then I realized that grades do not define who I am. I tried my best and unfortunately ended up with a bad grade. This was a huge learning experience for me. I learned that not everything is going to go the way I want it all the time. I must work harder next semester in order to achieve the goals I set forth. I realized that I had to change my study habits in order to see better results the next semester. Many times we set out on a path believing it is the right one, unfortunately you may have to walk all the way to the very end to realize you have to retrace your steps and take a new route.

After I learned about the GRO process, felt a lot better knowing I could retake the class with a new perspective. I knew that the next time that I took it I would give it my 110% and get a better grade. Always remember, it is not the end of the world if you get a bad grade in a class, you can always go to Think Tank or your professor’s office hours for extra help. Although the first grade will still show up on your transcript, the new grade will be averaged into your GPA. This information made me feel a lot better. I learned a lot from this experience and although it was unfortunate, it was a growing experience and one that I will put to practice more often.

One Response to “Grades Don’t Define Who You Are.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Study Diagnosis: What Tips Are Best for You? | Student Affairs Outreach - April 10, 2013

    […] Grades Don’t Define Who You Are […]

Leave a Reply

