You’ve Got a Friend in Me

17 Apr

Throughout our lifetime, we will encounter different experiences that make us grow. Growing up in a small town made it easy to know everyone and build strong relationships easily. Going home my first summer I thought it was going to be a huge high school reunion where we all caught up and just enjoyed the summer. That didn’t happen…

Coming home from college, we all experience different circumstances that make us grow up faster than we anticipated and lead us down different roads. Because of these changes, our closest friends can start drifting from us, and while it’s okay to be sad, it is also important for us to understand that things like this happen and we have to move on. One of the hardest experiences for me was dealing with the loss of a friendship that had been there for more than 16 years. My best friend, Olivia, decided to go to ASU, while I stayed here, throughout the school year we were both so busy that we didn’t stay in contact, and coming back home I felt it, I had lost my best friend. I was heartbroken and I didn’t think this would ever happen, but at the same time I understood that we were both in such different places in our lives that it was okay if we were no longer friends because in the long run it would be better for us.

blog 3

Now this doesn’t mean that ALL high school friends are gone. It simply means that some fit your new life better than others. It’s also important to give these friends some weekends of catching up, because although they might not be going through the same things that you are, they can understand the different situations and give you great advice. Friends are there to support you in any decision that you make, help you become a better person, and frankly are there to do the crazy things you can’t do with others.

blog 4

However, what I did notice is that at the U of A I have met great people in whom I found a new interest. New co-workers, club members, and classmates became the people that I found myself closest to. It’s important for you not to feel guilty about these new friendships. Like I previously stated, people change, and there’s no way to stop that. It’s essential to now cultivate these friendships especially over the summer. Social media makes it easier for us to keep in contact with people who are hundreds of miles away. Take advantage of that.

As William Shakespeare once said, “A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently allows you to grow.”

blog 2Bog 1




Leave a Reply

