Summer, Summer, Oh Summer!

25 Apr

tumblr_mlgpdnCROb1s8ti2ro1_500

I can’t wait for summer! Any guesses why? Nobody? Okay, okay I’ll tell you! I’m going to Istanbul to study abroad this summer. YAY! I’m super excited, but I’m also extremely nervous.  So my plans for this summer are pretty busy and chaotic at the same time. Before leaving I have to take care of a few things:

One: Finish up finals! At this point, I think everyone is a little stressed because we only have a couple of weeks left before finals. So my plan is to STUDY my brains out!Study, Study, Study! Finish off the year with good grades!

tumblr_inline_mjkkuzwRBT1qz4rgp

Two: Fulfill my Orientation and Welcome Leader job duties. Last Summer I worked for Orientation, and before I leave I will be finishing up the summer with these wonderful people.

911985_4822084305427_910344502_n

Finally! I will leave Tucson June 18-19 to Turkey. I’m not looking forward to the LONG flight there, but it will be all worth it. One of my biggest fears arriving there is getting from the airport to the university.  Because this is my first time abroad and ALONE I’m nervous I might say the wrong thing to the taxi driver and end up lost somewhere. But I know this is probably the worse case scenario, and I’m freaking myself out. This might be me arriving there …

tumblr_m2lcqr7QJf1qihztbo1_500

Once I get on campus I will be fine, and the worst part will be over. Since I will arrive a few days before the program officially starts, I will have 5 FREE days! YAY! Here are the places and things I wish do while I’m there.

1. Visit Aya Sophia Mosque: The Aya Sophia  is a great architectural beauty and an important monument both for Byzantine and for Ottoman Empires. Once a church, later a mosque, and now a museum at the Turkish Republic, Aya Sophia has always been valued throughout its many uses.

hagia

2. Fish on the Galata Bridge: Galata Bridge spans Istanbul’s Golden Horn, connecting the districts of Eminönü and Karaköy. The bridge is constructed on two levels and there is only a small section in the middle where boats can pass beneath it.  This is a very popular place for locals and tourists like myself.

img_1091

3.  CATS! CATS!: Istanbul has SO many stray cats all over the place. I love cats! so it will be fun to spot and take pictures of all the cute little kitties! I’ll have to remember to bring some sort of snacks to attract the cats towards me!

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  DSC05530fishing_cats

4. Istanbul Street Food! I mean, do I have to say much about how excited I am to eat their delicious food?! I will be documenting every meal! To keep you all updated, some of the most famous street foods are kebaps, döner, börek, pide, Lahmacun, mısır, kestane, and many others. Turkey is well known for their amazing food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA turkey-doner6774509311_3e7fc1ccd0

I can think of so many other parts of my trip that I’m looking forward to this summer, but I think you get the idea. Hopefully, when I come back I can share all the pictures with you! I hope your summer is full of adventure and fun!

What are some of your plans for the summer?

Leave a Reply

