Turn Up and Bear Down: Back to School Playlist

25 Aug

iPod for Playlist

With the start of the new school year, Wildcat Connections, and The University of Arizona’s Office of Academic Success and Achievement, embrace a brand new Student Affairs Outreach staff. To introduce ourselves, and to help fellow Wildcats ring in the new school year, we made a team Spotify playlist for your listening pleasure. These songs motivate us to get back into the swing of things, and to (soon) hit the books.

Adilene Barrios

Daft Punk “Get Lucky”

This year, I’m going to stay up all night to get lucky on my physiology tests.

Alex Estrella

Fort Minor “Remember the Name”

This song always gets me pumped to do my best at whatever I need to do. Fort Minor sings about how the power of will is everything, and I live by that message.

Kaelyn Garner

Walk the Moon “Anna Sun”

I am going to be pulling some all-nighters studying for my organic chemistry class to achieve that “A.” Can’t stop, won’t stop.

Jocelin Calcagno

Florida Georgia Line “Get Your Shine On”

Florida Georgia Line motivates me to start my day and get my “shine on.” “Get Your Shine On” puts me in a good mood so I can help make someone else’s day!

Franny Caputa

The Black Keys “The Go Getter”

The Black Keys’ title says it all! “The Go Getter” is the kind of song you can’t help but imagine yourself walking on a catwalk to. Wildcats, strut yourself to class like the rockstars you are. Internal soundtrack, anyone?

Valeria Martinez

Hande Yener “Ya Ya Ya Ya – Orijinal Verysion”

I was in Istanbul, Turkey this summer and “Ya Ya Ya Ya” was playing everywhere, all the time. It’s super catchy. I heard it daily on my bus ride to school, and I always thought to myself, this song is great.  I would look around me and every single person was singing this song. “Ya Ya Ya Ya”  would motivate me to go to class.  Now that I’m back in the states, this song still motivates me. It also reminds me how great this summer was, but that it’s time to get back to work.

Ciara Lowe

Ace Hood “Bugatti”   *beware of explicit content / lyrics

Whenever I need to turn up, I go to this song. If you are feeling nervous about anything just imagine yourself waking up in the morning with a new Bugatti.

Andy Gonzalez

The Black Eyed Peas “Where Is The Love?”

This song puts you in a good mood. Everyone knows it. The Black Eyed Peas remind listeners to be good to each other, to pass on love, and to keep everyone in a calm, stress-free mood.

Lauren Erdelyi

Dierks Bentley “Sideways”

I am training for a half marathon, and balancing school / work. This song always gets me pumped, makes me smile, and keeps me going.

Veronica Atondo / Lucero Pesqueira 

Andy Grammer “Keep Your Head Up”

The reason I like this song is because it reminds to keep going in life that everything will turn out fine.

As a college student, obstacles will be faced, but this is the perfect song to remind me to keep moving on, no matter the circumstances. I love the good vibes it triggers, and it just reminds me to love the journey, in this case, college!

Tori Outfleet

M83 “Midnight City”

This song will always remind me of a really fun night bowling that I had with my friends. We went to this sketchy bowling alley that had a DJ for some reason, and we requested this song. Our bowling night will be a fond college memory for years to come. As some of my friends have already left Tucson for “the next step,” and as I get ready to apply to graduate programs and potentially do the same, this song motivates me to remember to enjoy the present as well. I don’t want to be so focused on the future that I miss amazing moments with the people who matter in my life right now!

CONNECT: Tweet @WildcatConnect or Leave a Comment with your favorite back-to-school song, and you may see it featured in next week’s  Readers’ Choice Back to School Playlist. #WildcatReady #BacktoSchoolPlaylist 
One Response to “Turn Up and Bear Down: Back to School Playlist”

  1. Sonora Review August 25, 2013 at 6:59 PM #

    Nice to meet you, SAO staff! Thanks for the playlist. How about this one? I’m taking it one day at a time this semester: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwudqTCkBis

Leave a Reply

