New Year, New Me?

2 Jan

Happy New Year, everybody! We’ve made it through 2013, and I know we can make it through 2014!

Happy New Year 2014

It’s now January 1, not December 31… guess that means I gotta change?

The new year always brings about feelings of hope and promise – “this year is going to be different, I’m going to change, I’m going to ____________.”

Am I the only person who isn’t feeling it?

I think 16 years of school has inured me to the new year. I get the feelings of hope and promise when August rolls around – the new school year always trumps the actual new year!

That doesn’t mean I’ve given up on resolutions, though! Because, while I tend to appreciate the new school year more than January 1, this is still a fresh start at another semester. This semester, my biggest resolution is to clean my apartment and keep it clean. I know this seems like something I should do anyway… I’m an adult and I should know how to keep a clean house. I do know how to do that.

But once the semester is underway, that book you put down on the end table, then the one after that, and the one after that really start to pile up. This last semester was, by far, the worst I have ever let my apartment go. There are books, old papers, pens, pencils, and oh so many books littering almost every surface of my apartment, and, I’m embarrassed to admit, some of the floors too. But hey, two jobs (27 hours total each week) and four classes isn’t easy to balance, and having a spotless living room is not my top priority.

Room cluttered with books

See…? No, I’m totally kidding – my apartment isn’t *that* bad!

This semester is special though – I, along with all of my closest friends, am graduating in May. We’re all going in different directions – leaving Tucson, going to graduate school, getting real jobs. How is this related to my disheveled apartment? Well, it’s hard to squeeze in that much needed social time when you don’t want your friends to see the clutter your apartment has accumulated! So, for my social life, I will keep my apartment presentably clean.

Wish me the best of luck! What are your goals for this new semester and new year?

–Tori Outfleet

Leave a Reply

