Footieball Survival for the Unenthused

31 Jan

Okay, so pretty much the biggest sporting event of the year is happening this Sunday. What could be more exciting? I mean, everyone loves watching the game…don’t they? Nope! I may be one of the few people on the face of the planet who doesn’t like football (at least it feels that way sometimes).  I just don’t understand the fascination with watching big, sweaty guys throw a weird shaped ball around for ten seconds at a time. And don’t even get me started on how five minutes on the game clock is not anywhere close to five minutes of real time. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

But, every year, without fail, I’m invited to watch the game with people who definitely wouldn’t understand my lack of enthusiasm about the sport. What’s a girl who dislikes football at a football fiesta to do? Sure, I could sit in a corner and sulk, while everyone else is buzzing about who scored the last…goal? I don’t know. Whatever it’s called. Anyway, pouting is definitely not the answer, nor is faking a stomachache and staying home bored.

While I may not enjoy the game, I still enjoy the parties, and the reasons why are simple – delicious, horrible-for-you food and some of the greatest commercials of all time. Just think of the intervals with actual football as a chance to load up another plate of artery-clogging goodness or take a potty break! My personal favorite is playing “ketchup” with my friends (over apps and zerts, of course)!

I’m a girl who loves to eat, and these are gatherings where no one is counting calories or worried about their salt intake. Score one for this food-lover. You’ve got this amazing spread of nachos, sandwiches, pretzels, chips, pizza, jalapeno poppers… my mouth is watering already! So much food, so little room in my tummy!

food

I’m not really sure what those green things are around the ranch dressing, but they definitely won’t be making it onto my plate…

If you’re one of the rare specimens who doesn’t enjoy a good game of football, let alone the most important one of the whole season, don’t be discouraged. Go to that party and find something you like about it. At the very least, you get to be social with your friends!

If you need some ideas for game day recipes, check out our new Pinterest board… that’s where I’ll be getting my (p)inspiration.

-Tori

Leave a Reply

