Stoked for the Big Game

31 Jan

I don’t know about you, but I can never get enough football. Obviously, I prefer to be watching our Arizona Wildcats but usually I’m happy watching anyone except ASU play. Now that I think about it, I watched a lot of football over winter break with all of the bowl games and the pro games. What can I say? I just love it!

I think my love for football started around age four when my dad taught me how to throw a football. He played for the UofA as a receiver, so I loved it because he loved it. You see, football was on every weekend in our house, so I always wanted to understand why my dad would focus so hard on the television and critique each play. He tried to explain the game to me but the only thing I could kind of grasp was a “beautiful pass.” It wasn’t until I was older that I really appreciated the true beauty of a nice pass. Dad would say things to the TV like “you gotta read that,” or “where was the coverage.” I was confused because there weren’t any words to read. Little by little, I started to get it, and now I analyze each play just like him. I’m sure my family looks funny when we watch football because my dad and I sit there and quietly critique the game while my mom and sister pace around the room, jump up and down, and scream at the TV.

My family is a perfect example of intense, dedicated fans. One thing that motivates me to support a team is their intense focus on their job, motivation to improve and do their best, and their dedication to the success of their team. All fans support their team, whether they’re winning or losing, but when you can see the players’ hard work paying off, that’s when the fan-spirit is heightened. Team pride is represented by the fans, but the players have to create the foundation of enthusiasm. Everyone wants to win, but the players are the only ones who can make it happen.

Working for Arizona’s football team last year really solidified my admiration for the sport. I saw how hard the team worked, the high numbers of personnel involved in its success, and the need for full team unity. To me, football used to be just throwing a football and hoping someone catches it. Now I know there’s an art to their plays and formations, meticulously placing their strongest assets, quickly reading the opponents moves and thinking fast, and understanding teammates’ and their own strengths and weaknesses on the field. I respect the sport and the players and enjoy analyzing the differences in every team, how they work together, and how their coach and quarterback think quickly under stress. Each team puts their own twist on the sport, making every game dynamic and unpredictable.

It’s gratifying to watch a team evolve throughout the year. Seeing them make it to the playoffs is an accomplishment alone, but when they make it to the Super Bowl, I can’t help but feel ecstatic for both of the teams and their fans.

This year’s battle will be Denver versus Seattle. A fun fact: this is only the third time that both teams in the championship game have an animal nickname. This will be the seventh championship game for Denver since their creation in 1960, and only the second for Seattle who has been around since 1976. It should be a good game with closely matched teams coming in with 15-3 records.

We’ll see if the weather has any impact on their performance. The forecast predicts it will be around 30 degrees at kickoff which is better than what they had predicted. Planning was in place to deal with unbearably cold temperatures because it is in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The stadium even employed 1,600 workers to be on call to shovel away snow just in case. Next year, you can bet the game will be a little warmer because it will be held at the University of Phoenix stadium.

Football won’t be the only art on Sunday. If you think about it, there’s the art of socializing, the art of overtopped hotdogs, hand made dips, and the estimated 1.25 billion chicken wings that will be consumed on Sunday. Gross!

Back onto a better image there’s also the art of the half time show. It gets more incredible every year, and this weekend Bruno Mars and the Red Hot Chili Peppers will be performing. Oh, and you can’t forget the art of the commercials. Whether they’re hilarious or moving, most of them are memorable. There are so many more reasons to watch than solely for the football.

bruno-1

The only time I enjoy watching commercials is during the championship game. Did you know, last year, the average cost for a 30 second commercial during the game was $4 million? That means a total of about $220 million was spent on advertisements. Since companies spend so much, it’s no wonder why they try to make their best commercials for this event. I thought the two Doritos commercials from last year were pretty funny. I’m excited to see what the ads will surprise us with this year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmhhbJIBoNs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HY4L1ihRkaY

If you’re getting pumped for Sunday’s game and wondering what you can do for it, I have a few suggestions for you.

First of all, you could always have some friends over and ask them to bring a dish to share. Maybe you’ve been dying to cook your favorite homemade enchiladas but you didn’t have a reason to cook a big dish. Now you do. You could also take a walk to University and watch the game at Gentle Bens, Frog & Firkin, No Anchovies, and the Auld Dubliner. They all have great food and plenty of TVs, so if you’re rooting for Seattle you can watch one TV, while the Denver fans watch a different one. You could also look up a fun restaurant in Tucson you’ve never been to before. Just be sure to check if they have TVs and will be playing the game. If you wear your favorite team’s jersey maybe it’ll strike up conversation and you’ll meet someone new. You have plenty of options, and it’s a great excuse to relax and have fun with friends. I will be watching the game at my place with some friends. So far, I’m planning on making my famous guacamole and my mom’s homemade hummus. My roommate will make her family’s chili and football-decorated cupcakes. I hope everyone has a fun weekend and can find something enjoyable about the event.

chili guacamole cupcakes
Get the recipes for these tasty foods from WildcatConnections’ Pinterest Board!

–Hannah McNeal

Leave a Reply

