Excuse Me, While I Kiss The Sky #FearlessFebruary

19 Feb

This month I was given the challenge to try something out of the ordinary, something out of my comfort zone, and most of all to be FEARLESS.

 000000000

I took this challenge to heart and thought about my bucket list.  This is a list that I want to complete before I graduate college that includes crazy things like jumping off the stratosphere in Las Vegas, going river rafting in the Grand Canyon, and going skydiving.

Well, this past weekend, I decided that I want to scratch skydiving off my bucket list. When I decided that this was what I wanted to do, all I could think about was the feeling of weightlessness and the thrill of being alive. Now, come along with me as I share the “ups” and “downs” of my skydiving adventure.

As soon as we arrived at the Maricopa skydiving center in Phoenix I immediately noticed the small planes all lined up on the runway, ready for takeoff. This made me a little sick to my stomach. I was actually going to jump out of one of those tiny plane doors, “hatches,” at 12,000 feet above ground level.

Despite my nervousness, my friends and I started our paperwork and watched a skydiving safety video.  When I received my paper work, I couldn’t help but notice the disclaimer on the front page. It warned that I could be seriously injured or “killed.

This boldfaced warning made me nervous and I soon felt my heart sink into my stomach. I looked over at my friend, Adilene, and she had the same concern I did in her eyes, but I wasn’t going to back out. I knew that this is what comes with being fearless, and I didn’t want to go another day in my 20’s without experiencing that freefall-feeling. Still, I couldn’t help but think I may have just signed my life away as they took us into a nearby room to put our suits on and get ready for the jump.

00000002

Our instructors explained the skydiving process; step-by-step. They taught us how to kneel down before flying out, to put our hands on our shoulder straps, and to bend our body backwards to make the flight go well. The suits were not required, so instead, I wore my Chain Gang Junior Honorary rugby.

000000003

As we were getting all geared up, they interviewed us to see how we were feeling and what our thoughts were before we jumped. I felt like I was about to complete an Olympic event, like I was being interviewed by the media. This made me excited for the jump!

0000000004

We loaded the plane, and the wind made it hard to walk, but I climbed into the plane with a smile on my face and I was ready!!

0000000005

My instructor pushed me towards the open door of the plane and said, “here we go.” We jumped out of the plane and I felt like I was in a dream. We were free falling at 120mph for about one minute. My instructor pulled the parachute and I felt like a bird soaring through the sky. This was my favorite part because we got to do cool tricks with the parachute, and I got to really enjoy the view from the sky. This view was indescribable; it was like I was a giant looking down on a tiny city, but I found it peaceful.

0000000006

As we made it closer to land, I felt a sense of relief because I was safe, but I also felt accomplished. I celebrated with my friends, who had also landed, and we gave our instructors high fives.

I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Skydiving was definitely the craziest, most fun adventure I have ever had. I would definitely go skydiving again, and encourage everyone to try it, because it is a once in a life time opportunity to be daring and “kiss the sky.”

–Jocelin Calcagno

One Response to “Excuse Me, While I Kiss The Sky #FearlessFebruary”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Battling Stress with #FearlessFebruary | Student Affairs Outreach - February 28, 2014

    […] necessarily have to be daring and life-threatening, (our Outreach Facilitators Jocy and Adi went skydiving!) it just has to be something you normally would not do.  It’s time to de-stress, Wildcats, and […]

Leave a Reply

