I climbed Mount Everest! (Not really but just listen)

27 Feb

For my Fearless February, I decided to do something that I knew I had never done before and that I would gain something out of it. I’m ashamed to say this, but I had never attended a lecture by a guest speaker at the University of Arizona. When I first started my college career I really wasn’t involved in too much around campus. Once I became involved I found myself over involved and didn’t have time to attend such lectures.

A week ago Alison Levine visited campus and I got the opportunity to break this horrible habit and attend my first lecture from a guest speaker. If you don’t know who Alison Levin is…

Talk about being fearless! One of the small number who has completed a Grand Slam which is someone who has climbed the highest peak in every continent, skied to the North and South Pole, not to mention a U of A Alumni. Let me say that this woman is amazing! Her website says “Levine offers lessons for business and for life through a presentation that is one part inspiration, one part motivation and one part humor.” Needless to say, these comments were right on point.

Life lessons are often tough and can try to bring you down, but Alison learn to treat all of them as a learning experience to make herself a better individual. I walked out of the South Ballroom at the Student Union Memorial Center feeling like I could conquer the world!

cover-page-630x440

One of the things I mentioned before if how I tend to overly involve myself in activities. This often leads to a stressful life. From the lecture I learned that a little stress doesn’t hurt anyone. But it’s when you let stress control your life that it becomes an issue.

Allison likes to climb and that’s how she deals with her stress. Some of us aren’t that hand eye coordinated, but we can find other ways to release our stress. My favorites are reading (for fun not my homework), playing volleyball, and most importantly taking naps (I feel like after a nap you think more clearly). Everyone has a different way that they deal with their stress. Many times we are stressed because we want to excel in life. Like C. O’Conner from JP Morgan said, “As you so wonderfully illustrated, there are many corollaries between climbing and our daily striving to excel, to execute, to be leaders, producers and conducts ourselves with integrity and a positive attitude.”

Whether you are doing something different to fulfill a job responsibility, or because you want to better yourself, remember that life is like climbing Mount Everest. You can take 4 steps forward and 3 steps back. Life is a journey and you learn from everything that happens to you. From the steps forward to the steps back.

When climbing Mount Everest, you start at Base Camp spend a few nights there go to Camp 1 spend the night then go ALL they way down to base camp again. Then you go to camp 2 spend the night come all the way down, etc. It takes about 2 months to reach the peak of Mount Everest.

When climbing Mount Everest, you start at Base Camp spend a few nights there go to Camp 1 spend the night then go ALL they way down to base camp again. Then you go to camp 2 spend the night come all the way down, etc. It takes about 2 months to reach the peak of Mount Everest.

Many of us don’t like change, but like President Barack Obama said, “Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change we seek.” So what are you waiting for? What is your Mount Everest?

mount everest

Leave a Reply

