Surprise! Now jump off of a plane!

7 Mar

I had always wanted to go skydiving; it was on my bucket list. With that being said, I never thought I was actually going to do it. It’s not number one or two on the list- maybe somewhere in the hundreds. But a few weeks ago, I participated in #FearlessFebruary and I can now cross skydiving off my list.

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.50.41 PM

It all started last summer when my two best friends, Jen and Jocy, and I decided we wanted to go skydiving. We decided that it would be fun and we would all love the thrill of jumping out of a plane together. Our dream of going skydiving would become a reality when Jen got Jocy (one of your Outreach Facilitators) and I tickets to go skydiving.

It was settled. We would jump out of a plane during winter break. I was excited and terrified at the same time.

We later learned that there was something wrong with our tickets and we would no longer be skydiving. Bummer…actually I was relieved. It is one thing to say you will do something, but actually having the courage to go skydiving was something I lacked. I was more than happy to keep skydiving as a future plan and dream about one day doing it. I later forgot about our plans and decided it was not going to happen anytime soon. I was perfectly okay with that.

My 21st birthday was fast approaching and my two best friends announced that they had a surprise for me. That was all they said, a surprise. Now, let me mention that I am horrible with surprises! I’m scared of all surprises, big and small.

“Make sure to be ready by 8:00 am and we will be there to pick you up,” said Jocy. That was all she said. No matter how much I tried to get the secret surprise out of both of them it was no use. It was a surprise and it was going to remain a surprise.

On the morning of my 21st birthday, I was ready by 8:00 am, just as they had instructed and ready for the unknown. I was nervous, but it was a good kind of nervous. They picked me up and we drove. Our destination: a skydiving place in Maricopa. This was happening! I was going skydiving! Right. Now. It didn’t seem real to me. The item that I had put back on my bucket list as pending was going to be a reality in a matter of minutes.

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.51.05 PM

Although I was terrified at the thought that I was about to jump out of a plane, I was more than ready to do it. I had wanted to do this for a long time now, and the opportunity presented itself again, so I was going to take advantage of it. It was time for me to be fearless. It was time for me to get out of my comfort zone and accomplish something that I had wanted to do for a very long time.

Skydiving was amazing. The feeling you get as you are falling is unreal. The thrill is indescribable. As the parachute opened, and I realized I was going to live to see another day, I felt relief. I was happy with myself for going through with it.  Touching the ground made me realize how grateful I was for life. I had just experienced one of the craziest, most fun experiences that I would have never experienced had I stayed in my comfort zone.
Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.52.00 PM

I learned a lot from this challenge. I learned that I can do anything I set my mind to. That even as crazy as an idea sounds, if I pursue it, I can achieve it. I learned that I have the bestest friends a girl could ask for. And, I learned, that life is good.

My birthday surprise ended up being a success and I am now able to say that I have jumped out of a plane. This was not only a check mark added to my bucket list, but the realization that fear should not stand in the way of my dreams. As scary as anything can be, the feeling you get when you have accomplished it, is much greater. And that is a great feeling. I hope to do it again soon.

Screen Shot 2014-03-07 at 12.57.30 PM

So next time you are faced with a fear, remember that you are bigger than that fear. You can accomplish anything. Be fearless. Do more. Live more.

I live by the motto, “life is good.” I plan to live my good life to the fullest.

-Adilene Barrios

Leave a Reply

