The Metamorphosis of Spring Break

7 Mar

It’s no secret that spring break is a pretty big deal for us college kids. Whether you are a new student to the Wildcat life or if you have been Bearing Down for a couple years now, you probably start the spring semester with a few big things to look forward to, and one of those involves taking part in the most important week for students across the country: spring break.

The allure of having a week off to have the time of your life is extremely exciting. It’s quite possible that spring break could be the biggest moment of your semester, even the highlight of your life. I mean, just think about it.

The possibilities for greatness are endless. Spring break has definitely taken on a life of its own. Like many other students entering college, spring break symbolized a transcendent experience for me—one in which I was finally able to throw down like an adult and do some crazy stuff. And I have to admit, I intended to make the most of my spring break vacations by going out as much as possible.

I came into college thinking about all of the fun that I would have. I was mostly intrigued with the buildup to spring break. I was thinking Cabo San Lucas, Puerto Rico, California, Jamaica, anywhere with a beach, sun, and piña coladas. As a youngin’ (before I was 21) this was exactly what I envisioned.

cancun-spring-break2

or this

RicksShot

Of course, it never really worked out quite like this picture, but hey, I did my best with what I had. Without giving too much detail about my previous experiences, I would say that I lived up to most of my expectations of what I wanted spring break to be (minus traveling to Puerto Rico and Jamaica). For freshman and sophomore year, I thoroughly enjoyed going out and having as much fun as possible.

But after dealing with some heavy course loads during my sophomore and now my junior year, my view on spring break changed dramatically. I rarely spend anytime back home with my mom. I can count on one hand how many times I was able to make the trip back down to Rio Rico during the entire year. Sometimes all I want to do after a crazy week at school is spend some time with my family and our crazy dogs.

malika

This is Malika. She likes to sleep like a sloth.

pitbull

And this girl is just the most playful pitbull you could ever meet!

But, with the added responsibility that comes with pursing an education, working everyday, and outside commitments, it just didn’t allow me to take much time off for myself.

It’s safe to say that I had reached a boiling point. I started to feel very overwhelmed with school and realized that I had no free time during the year and was desperately waiting for spring break to come around and save me from going crazy.

You might be feeling this way as well.

My response to feeling burnt out was a sense of dissatisfaction once spring break came around. By this point, I was just so exhausted that I didn’t even want to go out that much. This feeling was me coming to the realization that, after spending the whole year trying to keep up with the faced paced university life, the last thing I wanted to do was to try and keep up with the mainstream hustle and bustle of spring break. This spring break, I am going to cruise in the slow lane.

Part of this means that I won’t be out searching for the wildest parties or craziest events. Rather, I am going to take my time and do some meaningful travel with my family–enjoying whatever falls in our path and relieving ourselves of the day-to-day stress that we go through. And I am more excited for the spring break than I have ever been!

I am not in favor of trying to lecture you into thinking about spring break differently by any means. If anything, I want you to do whatever makes you happy during your well-deserved time away from school. Whether you stay local or travel far, this is your time to do to with it whatever your heart desires. All that I am trying to point out is that at some point you will find out what that free time really means to you. You don’t have to go all out during this one week. You might tire yourself out more than you realize.

Plus, how much can you really cram into one week?

If I think about some of the more popular things to do on spring break, travel, beach fun, and nightlife come to mind. The traveling and finding a spot along the beach take up a lot of time. And why drive all the way to California, for example, and not take in all of the beautiful sights along the way? Or stop by a fruit stand and get some fresh oranges, maybe even dare to take a nibble at some of the street food, or talk to a few locals in a new place.

From my perspective, its the small things that count.  So if it feels right take the time slow down for a few minutes. I promise it will be worth it.

 

–Ciara

Leave a Reply

