Spring Break: Honduras Edition

10 Apr

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.48.28 AM
Over spring break, I took a trip to Honduras on a Medical/Public Health Brigade through GlobalBrigades. It was one of the best experiences of my life! I learned so much as both a student and a person; I will remember this trip and the friends that I made for the rest of my life. I decided to go on this trip because I love helping others and I loved the idea of making a difference in a country where I knew help was needed.

During clinic days we got to set up a medical clinic and treat patients that do not have access to health care due to a lack of resources. I absolutely loved the clinic days. I got to shadow doctors, interact with patients, and educate children on proper hygiene. There was a pharmacy station and a dental station that I got to work as well. It was the hands on experience that I loved! I worked one on one with the patients and got to assist doctors. The people were genuinely grateful that we were in their community making a difference, which made the whole trip worth it. They were so appreciative of the work that we were doing and thanked us unconditionally. It felt good to see how the work that we were doing impacted their lives.

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.49.51 AM
Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.49.33 AM
Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.50.04 AM

The public health days were based on sustainability. We worked in a community and built a sanitation station. The sanitation station consisted of a latrine, a pila (or water storage), and a shower. It was a lot of hard work and lots of cement mixing. I was exhausted, but it was worth it! It was really cool to know that we created something that the community will be able to sustain. The community members would not have access to clean water without the water and public health brigades. The last day of public health we were able to interact with the families and to hear how grateful they were for the sanitation station.


Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.51.05 AM
Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.53.18 AM
Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.52.52 AM

After six days of work, we were finally done with our brigade. I loved spending my entire brigade helping others. The connections I made with the people of Honduras will be ones that I will always treasure. The friendships that I made with my fellow brigaders was the highlight of my trip! I came into the brigade knowing one person, and I left with a group of people that I now call my friends. The people on the trip have such big hearts and it was great getting to know everyone’s stories. The trip would not have been the same without them. I had a great time and had lots of fun! I learned so much and I cannot wait to go back!

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.50.41 AM
I learned to see things in a different way. I realized that I take so many things for granted every day, because I got to witness first-hand the struggles that many people face daily. The simplest things such as flushing a toilet, running clean water, or having ice were things that I took for granted. I am learning to live life in a different way. I want to enjoy every day with the people that mean the world to me; I don’t want to take anything for granted anymore. I would recommend it to anyone. If you are given the opportunity to travel abroad on a service trip, take the opportunity. You learn so much about other cultures and about yourself. I hope to go back to Honduras very soon and to travel the world in hopes of making it a better place.

-Adilene Barrios

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 9.52.28 AM

Leave a Reply

