Pizookies. Nail polish. & Netflix. These are a few of my favorite things.

1 May

Homework causes stress. Tests cause stress. Presentations cause stress. Finals cause stress. Does anyone notice a trend here? Let’s be real: COLLEGE IS STRESSFUL. I, for one, have learned that college is stressful. I even get stressed out just writing my to-do list for the week. But, I learned how to deal with stress. And I’ll even let you in on all my stress relieving secrets!

1. Eat comfort food.

If I am feeling overwhelmed, I usually turn to chocolate. But my ultimate favorite is…PIZOOKIES. Yes, I am a fan of the warm, gooey chocolate chip cookie with ice cream on top. If I am feeling stressed, you will usually find me eating a pizookie. Indulge in (insert your favorite comfort food here) next time you are feeling stressed.

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 4.32.47 PM

2. Exercise.

After I finish that pizookie, I need to work it off and continue my journey to finding relaxation. I love hiking in beautiful Tucson, or visiting the Rec Center. There are many fitness classes like Zumba, Yoga, and BOSU Blast that you can participate in. Working out can help you stay in shape and relieve that stress you have been accumulating all semester.

brad-pitt-workout-1

3. Watch your favorite TV show.

If you are feeling stressed, you may feel the need to take a break and not do anything for 30 minutes so that you can motivate yourself to jump on it and accomplish that task. Do it. I love going on Netflix or turning on the TV and watching an episode of my favorite show before getting back to work.

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 4.33.58 PM

4. Do an activity that calms you.

For me, it is painting my nails. Painting my nails is the perfect way for me to focus on nothing but myself for twenty minutes. I love listening to music and painting my nails every week. It is one of the stress relieving activities that I enjoy the most. Whatever the activity is for you, make sure you take the time to do one activity a week that you enjoy doing. You will stop thinking about that pile of homework you have and give yourself time to relax.

Screen Shot 2014-05-01 at 4.44.21 PM

5. Go outside and enjoy the fresh air.

If you’re thinking, “I don’t have time for any of the things you have mentioned!” this one is for you. Take five minutes (you can afford five minutes), go outside, and breathe. Just take five minutes out of your day and enjoy the view. Those five minutes can help calm you down and get you ready to conquer those assignments.

tumblr_m2wga318SV1qdcgp6o1_500

Those are my top five favorite stress relieving activities I do when I am feeling overwhelmed. But the most important one is knowing that YOU CAN DO IT. You are smart and you will get through the semester! Don’t worry and don’t let the stress get to you! You made it this far and you will finish off the semester knowing that you gave it your all! Remember that hard work pays off!

hunger-games-quotes-23
-Adilene Barrios

Leave a Reply

