Image

When Will My Reflection Show?

4 Sep

Graduating high school and moving forward into your freshman year in college can be scary, but also full of great opportunities to leave your comfort zone and discover new things about yourself. Whether it be acing a challenging course or creating a new circle of friends, you may come to find that the person you were in high school is just waiting to blossom into a new identity tailored to a promising college lifestyle. 

 

Let’s take a step back and do some self-analyzing. What type of person do you believe you were in high school? Were you a part of a sports team? Did you sing in choir, or act in a drama club? Were the people who you surrounded yourself with similar to you, or different? Personally, I was in my school’s marching band for two years, and made the majority of my friends throughout countless rehearsals and performances during football games and competitions. I loved it so much that before I knew it, I was contacting the band director of the Pride of Arizona at the end of my senior year. It wasn’t until after my potential section leader had emailed me all the paperwork and sheet music that I decided that I didn’t want to join the Pride of Arizona after all (it’s nothing personal, because the Pride of Arizona is amazing). I figured that my freshman year was the time to explore another side of myself and see what potential I had in other areas that I was interested in. But where was I going to start?

 

Thanks to the vast variety of courses that are offered at UA, I could explore my interests in new subjects while earning a grade for it at the same time! Your academic advisor is your best friend in college; they oversee your academic progress and where you’re at in meeting the requirements for your major, so they will always know how to point you in the right direction. Take the time to explore all the courses that meet your general education requirements, and pick the ones that immediately catch your attention. Normally I wasn’t too interested in any subject history related, but I found an anthropology course on UAccess that struck my interest and added it to my class schedule. I ended up absolutely loving that class and realized that minoring in anthropology wouldn’t be such a terrible idea. Of course, I did take classes that I knew I would be interested in, but this little epiphany was enough to wake me up and feed my desire to branch out even more.

Now if you’d rather get involved with something that isn’t so academic, may I suggest seeking out a club or organization to join? From Greek life to ZonaZoo, getting involved with life on campus is an excellent way to meet new people, and embrace that Wildcat spirit that we all hold dear to our hearts. The organization that I happened to stumble upon allowed me to reconnect with my Native culture and discover things that I never knew about my family. The Native American Student Affairs immediately encouraged me to get involved and get acquainted with other fellow Native American students. I became even  prouder of my culture than I already was, and realized that I would like to pursue a career that would help my people in one way or another. Being a part of something bigger than yourself can make you feel strong, invincible, and ready to take on the world!

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not necessarily telling you to completely abandon who you currently are and become a new you overnight. As cheesy as it may sound, be proud of who you are! Use college as a way to amplify your personality, not drown it out. And along the way, discover new faces of your identity as you take on new courses, create new friendships, and get involved in extra curricular activities like you never have before!

You will all do beautifully, and welcome to the University of Arizona.

-Casey

Leave a Reply

