From Candyland to College: A Journey of Self-Discovery

12 Sep

Candyland: the game we all played as kids that is solely based on luck of the draw. Candyland has a progression, steps to follow, short cuts, and even built in roadblocks. The journey to become “King Candy” is different for everyone, and some of us even get stuck at (what feels like) EVERY licorice space.

 candyland

We grow up being asked,”What did you learn in school today” and “What is your favorite color.” That usually ends, but the question that prevails is “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

britney scared

While growing up, I always had an answer to that question… but as freshman year approached, panic set in. I have to decide what I want to do for the rest of my life RIGHT NOW?!

giphy-7

I had given myself 3 potential options: Conservation Biology, Theatre, or Business.  When the day came to register at the University of Arizona, my perfect career idea had not yet smacked me in the face. So I clicked the No Major Selected option and hoped for the best.

nervous

During that summer before I entered college, I decided that conservation biology was probably going to be it for me! At orientation, I registered for a few courses that would let me try out the major but remained undeclared. It was not long before I realized that as much as I wanted to do conservation biology, it was not exactly what I had thought it was and not what I wanted to do. This devastated me, it felt like everyone around me had a major and an end goal and I was now stuck in hard classes that were probably not going to get me to where ever I needed to go.

Nope

I was extremely fortunate to have made some great friends that first semester because they helped me realize that changing my major is normal and I was going to be okay. So I made the decision to apply to the Theatre Arts Design Technology program. I was accepted a few weeks later and I finally felt like this was it! A short time later, I added on a business administration minor because it was my 3rd idea and I thought it wouldn’t hurt to have a minor.  After enjoying a year in the Theatre program, I knew it was not meant to be my career and I knew I had to change… again. I was extremely frustrated, I felt like I had wasted a year of my life and college experience on something that was not meant for me. It took me a long time to realize that finding out what is not right for you is just as important as discovering what is. With no other ideas, I thought it was time to try the 3rd idea I had before I even entered college – I switched to the Pre-Business track.

I am proud to say that I am (finally) a Business Management student in Eller College of Management. I have a theatre arts minor, because I was a few credits shy of the minor when I changed majors. Finally, I have a Sports Management certificate because why not! What I am most proud of is that I will be graduating on time!!

Funny-gifs-aww-snap

We’re all currently on the Candyland board, in different spaces. Some of us have been stuck in those licorice spots for seemingly forever, while others may never have that experience. I would say I am jealous of those who don’t have those road blocks, but I can’t say that is true. As frustrating at it has been to find my path, it has made me stronger and I realized things about myself I would have figured out who knows when otherwise.

All I can tell  you is do what feels right. Utilize your resources, talk to your advisor or the advisor of the major you are looking into.  It’s okay if you don’t know what you want your major to be and it’s okay to change your major!

200 (1)

If you are ever just completely at a loss just remember… it’s Beyoncé’s world and we’re all just living in it.

 

-Elena

Leave a Reply

