#StudiousSeptember: Going After It, Dumbledore Style

2 Oct

At some point, we’ve all been told to “Go after it.” Some folks seem to know what their “it” is from the day that they’re born, while others (like myself) wander aimlessly for a long time before finding their niche. Luckily, through talking to my neighbor (a neonatal nurse) and taking prerequisite classes, I came to the conclusion that nursing is my “it.” However, unlike many of the undergraduate majors that UA has to offer, getting into the Nursing major requires a highly competitive application process. Although I am absolutely certain that nursing is the right field of study for me, the prospect of my upcoming interview still has me feeling a bit like Ron confronting giant spiders. 

canwepanicnow

For those of you who are not familiar with Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore, the most important thing to know is that he always seemed to handle stressful situations with poise. He is someone who I aspire to be like, so for this #StudiousSeptember, I am committed to learning how to cope with the necessary evils of application stress and uncertainty so that I can look more like Dumbledore and less like Ron.

As you can imagine, when I first received the interview invitation, it looked exactly like this. 

At first, all I could think about was how excited I was to be one step closer to my dream. But then…the nerves began to creep in.

What if I don’t get into nursing school?

How am I going to afford an extra year of undergrad if I’m not accepted?

What if I have to leave the UA and all of the wonderful people that I’ve met here?

I think that all of these questions are perfectly valid, but they’re also a distraction. For a day or two, I allowed them to take precedence over hopeful and constructive questions like “What can I do to prepare for my interview?” To set myself up for as great an interview as I’m sure that Dumbledore had when seeking the position of “Best Headmaster that Hogwarts has Ever Seen,” I knew that I had to get into gear. However, since this interview is the most important opportunity that I’ve ever been offered, it does not make sense to approach it in the same way as all the others.  I knew that I needed to experiment with something new.

In the picture below, it looks like Dumbledore is defeating evil but that would be incorrect: he’s actually preparing for an interview.

Dumbledoregettingpumpedforaninterview

The “something new” that I decided to incorporate into my interview preparation strategy was enlisting the help of Career Services. All that I had to do was go upstairs to the 4th floor of the Student Union and ask to set up an appointment for a nursing mock interview. The constructive feedback that I received from this meeting about what to research prior to an interview and how to incorporate more personal experiences into responses was invaluable. This #StudiousSeptember, I learned more about how to take action instead of just worrying because when you’re prepared, there’s no reason to worry. With that in mind, I will practice my interview skills everyday and afterward I will celebrate like this.

      howimgoingtofeelwhenigetintonursingschool             

-Alicia

Leave a Reply

