#StudiousSeptember: A Chef in the Making

6 Oct

Friday night rolled around and I wanted to make something unique for my boyfriend and myself. Although take-out Chinese would’ve been an easier option, I decided to bring out my inner Rachel Ray. I figured that since I basically had every vegetable imaginable, I might as well make the ratatouille recipe my sister raved about. For those of you who don’t know, ratatouille is a delicious and traditional French stewed vegetable dish, which originated in the town Nice. My boyfriend and I have always wanted to try making ratatouille at home ever since we tried it at a cute little French cafe.

The recipe was rather straight forward, and it required: eggplant, yellow squash, red pepper, red potato, green pepper, garlic, onion, tomato, marjoram, basil, salt, and pepper. After all the vegetables were washed and cut, they were glazed with a light layer of extra virgin olive oil. The bake time was around 40 minutes, but it only took a couple minutes to smell the delicious aroma. On the side, I prepared a tomato-based sauce and wild rice for the vegetables to be eaten with. Since I am not a cheese lover, I left out the fresh parmesan cheese.

Overall, the recipe was both delicious and nutritious. It also was a rather cheap dinner since I essentially had all the ingredients in my pantry and refrigerator! Take that Rachel Ray!

– Erica

Leave a Reply

