#StudiousSeptember: Laugh a Little, Laugh a Lot

6 Oct

We have all heard the expression, “bad things come in threes” and they sure do. Well at least for me they did. I recently had to endure three exams from three of my major business courses all on the same day!  How did I get through it? I laughed. Yes, I laughed but more importantly I found a new way to handle my stress. Don’t make the mistake of thinking this happened over night; for years I struggled with test anxiety and letting my nerves get the best of me. Until exam day, I kept reminding myself to handle what I could and not fret over the rest.

If this happened a year ago, I would have locked myself in my dorm room, only taking a 20 minute break to eat. Sleep? Nope, getting those zs was not an option at the time. Anytime I felt like I was slipping back into my old habits I had to stop myself and reevaluate how I was spending my time. Telling yourself “No, that won’t help at all” really does well, help!

While I kept reminding myself to stay calm and do what I could, there was still a part of me that wanted to go into panic mode. My mood suddenly switched from collected to “dang girl you better chill!”

Just when I thought I was on the right track, my nerves kicked in. I had no idea what anyone was talking about around me because I centered my thoughts on those three exams.

Then I realized, “What am I doing? There’s only so much I can do.” After that, I laughed at the thought of the unnecessary stress I was giving myself and went on with my day. I found it silly to start freaking out and pacing back and forth instead of getting myself together and controlling the situation.

Managing your stress does not happen instantaneously. Take it from me when I say the struggle is real! However, you develop the skill faster than you think. If I were to experience a bundle of exams around this time last year, I honestly would have had a nervous break down. Any skill you acquire comes with experience.

As it turns out that keeping a calm and collected attitude actually benefited me on the day of my exams (huh, who knew?!). So, my send off to you is to remember to take action with what YOU can control. Stressing over factors simply out of your hands can keep you from moving forward and preparing for whatever will be thrown at you. Remember to stay positive. This too shall pass!

-Maddie

 

Leave a Reply

