#StudiousSeptember: “My Beau”

6 Oct

This month, I decided it was time to pick up my ukulele again. I had been neglecting her all summer and it was sad to see “my beau” gathering dusk in the corner of my dorm room. I figured what better time to pick her back up than #StudiousSeptember. It had been over a year since I’ve played and my skills were a little more than rusty. I had forgotten chords all together and couldn’t play a note to save my life. I had to start from scratch.

But it wasn’t at all as hard as I thought it would be. After a few hours of struggling I finally got my rhythm back and was able to play a few chords gracefully again. Normally that’s where I would stop and I would put “my beau” down and start another task, but I wanted to fully commit to #StudiousSeptember and try to learn a whole song to post onto the blog.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to learn a whole song. Through this experience I realized that playing took a lot of time and a lot practice, both of which I didn’t have room in my schedule for.  But I did learn a couple new chords and with a little more practice and effort I think I’ll be able to play “I Can’t Help Falling in Love” by Elvis Presley.

The four basic chords of the Ukulele are the Am, C, Em, and F.

                       Am chordC chordEm chordF chord

All of which are including in the song “I Can’t Help Falling in Love.” These chords are fairly easy to play because it doesn’t take too much effort, but along with these four chords, there are two new chords that I had to learn. Dm and G.

                                           Dm chordG chord

These chords were really hard for me to play because I had to adjust my fingers in a position that allowed me play the chord but didn’t effect any of the other strings. My fingers are small and adjusting to these chords was hard especially because my fingers weren’t used to pressing against the frets. It took a lot of time for me to actually be able to switch chord to chord without messing up and placing my fingers in the correct position.

Throughout this process I learned that playing an instrument is a great way to relieve stress. The more time I could spend strumming and practicing my ukelele the less intense my day would feel. I found that studying before practicing was a great motivator to get my work done. 

-Lex

Leave a Reply

