#OutrageousOctober: Let It Go

14 Oct

Hi, my name is Elena and I am a control freak.

This is not a recent realization in my life, and it doesn’t come out in every aspect of my life but it is always inside of me. My need (yes it is a need) to be in control REALLY comes out when I travel. One of my favorite things to do is to travel and that is why I get so interested in the details of a trip.

When I go somewhere, I don’t need or want every moment of every day to be planned but I want to know what’s going on. If I am not able to help plan, I need an itinerary of what to expect.

I know you’re thinking “this girl is too much,” and you may be right, but that is just how I am!

So I tried something new, I decided to let it go. I went on a trip that  I had no part in planning, besides the city we were going to and one activity we would attend, I knew nothing about the trip. The whole week leading up to my departure day I kept being asked, “where are you staying,” “what are you going to do,” and “who are you going with.” My response was “umm, I don’t really know.” Yes, I didn’t even know everyone who was going,  in fact, I only knew one other person.

The time leading up to the trip was very uncomfortable for me.  I didn’t plan anything, I didn’t know anything, and I felt like I couldn’t talk about it with my friends because I had no information about my trip.

I went on the trip and I had a good time, but I know more structure could have made it so much better. On our free day, we wandered around the city with no idea what to do or what the city even offered. I found it to be frustrating because I felt like we didn’t utilize the short time we had. That being said, I don’t want to harp on the parts I didn’t enjoy because that’s not the point.

The point is, although there easily could have been improvements, I am happy I had this experience. It forced me to let it all go and live in the moment not in a plan.

The moments that were by far my favorite were because there was no schedule.

We stopped by a Starbucks that was next to the world’s largest Kokopelli.

kokopelli

My parents moved since the last time I saw them, so we stopped by their house and I got to see my puppy!

mater
Neither one of us had ever stopped to see the Hoover Dam before, so we thought why not. However it was not as successful as we would have hoped! So close, and yet so far.

hover dam

The best part about the whole thing is I got to spend the weekend with one of my best friends!

Vegas

From this trip I learned that things might not go as smoothly as you would hope, but the stops along the way make it all worth it!

 

–Elena

Leave a Reply

