#OutrageousOctober: Single At The Cinema

21 Oct

Though I’ve been a bit anti-social the majority of my life, I would choose going out in public with a friend versus flying solo, any day. So I took this opportunity to take a few steps outside of my comfort zone and visited the movie theater all by my lonesome self this past weekend. Since I do not own a vehicle, nor am willing to ride a public bus by myself (I’ll save that for another month), I had to ask a friend to pick me up and drop me off. This was quite awkward for the both of us in itself, yet very appropriate for the situation. I’ll be honest, it was a bit unnerving in the very beginning, but once I made it past the “movie stub collector”, the fact that I was without a friend or family member wasn’t all that bad!

shm1

I had a very “go big or go home” mentality that day, so I decided to push myself further into this unfamiliar territory by viewing the horror film, Annabelle. Now, I have never actually experienced watching a horror film in a huge pitch-dark (for the most part) room, with heart stopping surround sound, and shrieks from neighboring viewers. So needless to say, this was going to be a very “exciting” day for me. Unfortunately, I wasn’t handed the best opportunities to take personal photos because: a) we all know how strict movie theaters are about cameras, and b) quite frankly, I lack the confidence to take selfies.

scurred

But on the bright side, choosing where to sit was certainly easier! However I had this strange need to hold my handbag very closely to my stomach on my lap, which, according to my mother, makes me look like an old woman on a bus. I guess you can just label me as paranoid for that one. What also was a flaw in this situation, was not having anyone to catch me up on the parts that I may have missed during an inconvenient trip to the bathroom. First world problems right?

crying

Throughout the film, I desperately tried to maintain a “calm, cool, and collected” image, but I’m one to get started incredibly easily and evidently succumbed to the elements in which the director so mercilessly utilized. And we all know part of the fun of seeing a scary movie is getting scared collectively with friends which I unfortunately did not have with me at the time. I did feel tinges of embarrassment and loner-esque, but I became so engulfed in Annabelle that I started to notice it less and less. So I suppose in a way, my choice of movie genre helped ease the discomfort of being in public alone, rather than make it worse.

strtldwk

I can’t entirely say with confidence that I will  be voluntarily placing myself in this situation again anytime soon, but overall, it was  successful experience! I would definitely encourage anyone to try this at least once, it could be a good story to tell at a cocktail party.

tumblr_ndosgePg5V1u1q4c9o4_400

-Casey

Leave a Reply

