#OutrageousOctober: When Nothing Goes as Planned

28 Oct

When I first heard that the other peer mentors and I would  have to complete an #OutrageousOctober challenge, I immediately panicked. ‘Outrageous’ has some negative connotations and I don’t understand why we can’t have a #JudiciousJanuary or #MellowMarch every once in a while. Despite my doubts, I literally put my best foot forward for #OutrageousOctober, by signing up for the Monster Mash and 5K Dash hosted annually by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation’s Tucson chapter.

CysticFibrosisRun

For a non-athletic person like me, making the commitment to run 3.1 miles (or any number of miles for that matter) is a big deal. To prepare for the race, I started running a mile every day for a week. Once I got comfortable with that, I started adding half a mile everyday until I got all the way up to 3 miles. Everything was going exactly as planned and I was beyond excited for race day to arrive!

MonsterMashand5KDash

A few days before the race, I came down with a cold, but I wasn’t disheartened. But then, on the eve of race day, I got the stomach flu. As you can imagine, the prospect of running 3.1 miles while bogged down with not one, but two illnesses was overwhelming. I was so disappointed because I was sure that I wouldn’t be able to go to the race at all.

HappyHalloweenRun

Fortunately, I started to feel better the next day and I made it to the race. Even though I wasn’t able to run the entire time in my sickly state, it was still a fantastic experience. My friend decided to come along with me and although things didn’t go as planned, I have no complaints.

Pat and I

To those who celebrate, have a fun and safe Halloween!

-Alicia

Leave a Reply

