#OutrageousOctober: Staying Strong Through the Twists and Turns

4 Nov

To get out of my comfort zone this October, I decided to face one of my biggest fears, roller coasters. I really don’t even hate roller coasters – I think they are awesome. The parts I hate are the heights and the fast speeds. Now I know that they don’t really break down all that often considering how many times they run, but what if I was that time?! For my birthday I was given season passes to Six Flags Magic Mountain in California and I thought that now was better than later to face my fears.

IMG_4408

Now there are a number of big rides in the park to face my fears, but I decided to start small and ride a ride called The Revolution. This ride is just your basic roller coaster, goes fast but not too high and there is a loop. As the roller coaster came to the end of its run I just burst out laughing, I was completely terrified during the roller coasters run, and I knew that it was one of the smallest coasters in the park. I had to try something big something that would really give me a good example of how the day was going to go.  I was going to take on X2.

X2 is a crazy roller coaster that is sure to terrify anyone who goes on it. All of a sudden I became really quiet, my hands were clammy, and I didn’t feel  great. I felt sick for the entire 2 hour line wait. Finally it was there in all of its glory and I was terrified. It really didn’t help that my friend kept telling me completely bogus stories about the ride breaking down. The theme of X2 is that you’re in an unidentified aircraft entering a government restricted area. It was absolutely terrifying. I truly thought that I would never want to ride another roller coaster again when I finished, and that I would have a terrible time in the park for the rest of the day. But I was surprised….I really had a lot of fun. I can’t wait to take on more coasters.

Before the ride I felt like this: I was definitely a type A

IMG_4412

 

After I was definitely type XTREME

IMG_4413

Now I can face every roller coaster!

-Laura Hacker

Leave a Reply

