#NovemberToRemember: How Tempest DuJour Gave me Life

24 Nov

Have you ever heard about Retro Game Show Night? Until I went to Hotel Congress on Saturday night, I hadn’t either!

From what I had seen on a flyer, this show was going to be a game show with a twist. “Hollywoodish Squares” to be exact.

Screen shot 2014-11-21 at 8.49.37 AM

My friend and I walked into Hotel Congress at around 6:15pm. Mind you, the show didn’t start until 7:15ish, so we had really jumped the gun here. The room was dimly lit and smelled like moderately priced cologne and pleather. I was digging it so far. As time went on I felt myself becoming more and more nervous. First things first, I have to tell you that I really didn’t know what to expect. Was I going to be selected out of the crowd to go up and participate in the game show?  Was I even going to enjoy this show?

Despite a few of my own reservations on what this night would hold, I was not disappointed!

Out came Tempest DuJour: big hair, gorgeous makeup, and a sparkling dress that instantly caught your attention.

Screen shot 2014-11-18 at 10.17.19 AM

Flawless

 

No doubt about it: I was caught of guard by how the humor of the show matched mine almost perfectly. It was bold, colorful, and full of vulgarity and I loved it!

I’ve always wanted to see an event that involved men in drag and get a glimpse into that particular style of entertainment. I think deep down in all of us lies a man in drag. However, some of my friends disagree, but such is life. Nevertheless, Tempest DuJour allowed me my moment to let loose and enjoy the sassiness she was giving. I loved every minute of it! It made me realize that I might take her unspoken advice: be yourself, be true, and be fierce!

-Ciara

Leave a Reply

