#NovemberToRemember: Paying it Forward

24 Nov

This semester I had the great opportunity of being nominated for my college’s search committee for a new faculty member. This means that I’ll be working alongside two other students and five other faculty members with each of us representing our respective majors or areas of interest within the college to find more faculty members that can help move our college forward.

This is such an honor in many ways. The first is that the committee positions are not announced or applied for. All of the faculty members on the board are chosen by the dean of the college and the advising board, and all of the students are nominated by the professors and advisors. It’s really heartwarming and encouraging for me to know that the faculty members I have contact with recognize qualities in me that they think would make me a great representation of my entire major. The next great honor comes in being able to directly influence the future of my college. In this new position, I will be able to select from faculty members that I think will be able to not only educate and inspire my fellow students but also stand as a direct representation of the diversity and inclusivity seen in our student body. My top pick of faculty member may even be chosen for the position by our dean.

tumblr_mkfvjbEhKG1s8rz3mo1_500

 

I’ve had such great experiences in my college these past few years that I’m very excited to be able to give more students similar chances. The faculty members now have helped me gain precious professional contacts, gain entry into extremely competitive internships, and win awards and even some scholarships. It’s such a privilege to be apart of a team that will look for more faculty members that will help future students achieve their goals just as I was able to. This is so important because I was always taught to leave a position or organization better than It was when I came into it. I hope that after the committee has finished its search, our efforts will result in a much better college for future students. *Cue Happy Dance*

tumblr_mw2lqdYZ4n1r62d6to1_500

 

– Houston 

 

2 Responses to “#NovemberToRemember: Paying it Forward”

  1. theworldofcos November 24, 2014 at 10:31 PM #

    Congrats! That sounds awesome!

  2. houstonharris December 9, 2014 at 3:28 PM #

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

