#NovembertoRemember: A Trip Down Memory Lane

10 Dec

In spirit of #NovembertoRemember I asked myself, why compose a blog about only one event that happened in my life this November? Instead, why not make a compilation of amazing, mostly unexpected memories?

With that said, let me walk you down my November memory lane.

Stop #1: TUBAC

tubac_sign

My November started off strong and inspiring with a trip down to Tubac. For those of you not familiar with Tubac, Tubac is a small, artsy town with minimal attractions and mostly inhibited by retired individuals. Every so often, they host art festivals that attract more diverse crowds such as my lovely friend Ciara and me. That day being a Sunday, we thought what better way to start our day than with a nice walk through Tubac looking at the art and creations.

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 4.31.10 PM

After our exploration phase, we decided some amazing dessert sounded just right. So we headed to a local restaurant in Tubac that has amazing fried ice cream. As the pictures show… we devoured that delicious dessert!

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 3.45.18 PM

Stop #2: ALL SOULS PROCESSION

Nothing says November to me like Dia de Los Muertos! If you’re familiar with Tucson, you know that people really get into the Day of the Dead celebrations. To celebrate those who have left this world, we decided to attend the All Souls Procession parade. We had initially planned to make it to the event right on time, but after make-up and some messing around we were about an hour late and as a result had to chase the parade down. However, we had fun and this was the end result of our preparation:

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 4.38.42 PM

Personally, I feel last year I did a better job, but the celebration was all the same.

Photo on 2013-11-03 at 22.26

Stop #3: EVANGI’S 2nd BIRTHDAY

If you are lucky in life you find that one person with who you are everlasting best friends no matter the distance, time, or constraints that come up. I have been extremely lucky to stay friends with an individual who I absolutely love and adore since I met her back in middle school. Even luckier of me is to have the privilege of having her daughter, Evangeline, in my life. Since moving up to Tucson, I have not had the opportunity to see Celi and Evangi often. If anything, I will see them maybe twice a year three times if I’m lucky. However, I would not miss Evangi’s birthday for the world, and for that reason memory number 3 is her birthday party.

IMAG1143

First and foremost, let me tell you that this little girl is probably the cutest, most curious and intelligent little human. An exact replica of her mother, she is a sweetheart with some sass to back it up. I had been uncertain as to whether I would make it down to the birthday party since I had lab work to take care of that day, but luckily I made it down and had an amazing time!

IMAG1133

After hanging out with my best friend and a good friend I hadn’t seen in a while, I left the birthday party happier than ever. Plus, I got a lovely kiss after much rejection from Evangi! Overall, amazing day!

IMAG1139IMAG1140-1

Stop #4: PINKY

November also brought a new family member.

IMAG1172

Meet Pinky. She randomly showed up on my sister’s doorstep one night, whining and barking, and decided she loved my sister and wanted to stay!

Stop #5: ONE DROP

As many of you, I have one that band I’m particularly obsessed with and that I love dearly! Well for me, this one band is One Drop, a reggae band from San Diego. Since the first day I heard them, I downloaded all their music and learned the lyrics. In short… I’m a HUGE fan! Well, in my exploration of what to do one day I randomly started to look up tour dates for One Drop and to my surprise they were coming to Tucson that same week! I was mindblown and sooooooo excited!

Without hesitation I let my significant other know we were going, no choice for her right there (she understood this madness). I went to their concert and they were just as amazing as I thought they would be!

IMAG1146

You know there are those bands that sound amazing in their albums and then you go to their concerts and they sound terrifying live? Well, this band isn’t one of those bands!

So there it is… my memory lane.

 

– Lucero

 

 

Leave a Reply

