#JumpStartJanuary: … And We’re Back!

1 Jan

We. Are. Almost. Back. 

January is here. The start of a new semester. A new chapter in all of our lives.

A time reflect before the we start the new year. A time to start off on the right step. A time to really get ready for the next 5 months! 

I decided to truly prepare myself for this next semester BEFORE January 14th. I have to say, I think this might be the first semester I have successfully done this (oops). 

I started with my home life. I have moved every single year. If I am going to be completely honest, I almost never completely move into a place. IF I unpack all of my boxes, it happens sometime around March (when my move occurred the previous August… again, oops). So to say the least, my room is never as organized as I would like it to be, especially when I start a new semester. 

I decided to start with my room. After finals ended last semester, this became my project. I can do a big clean in one day, no problem. But finding a location and organize the stuff I have been avoiding for the past 6 months… that’s when I start to lose interest and ANYTHING can distract me. So I pushed through and did a little organizing every day. 

I feel like a clean and organized living environment is good for the soul. When I go home, I am comfortable, I think I know where everything is, and most importantly, I am not tripping over boxes of stuff. 

Will I make the claim that my room is perfect? 
No. 
But it looks pretty and spacious and I can’t ask for much more. 

Onto the next task: textbooks. Once I started my room organizing and cleaning, I found old textbooks that I never sold back or did anything with. So I had to add that project to my list. I have started the process of selling my books online. I’ll keep you updated with that experience.

Oh and then the age old ordeal of buying textbooks. I decided to start early with some research and figuring out which retailer will give me the best deal. I am still working on that process but I am just about ready to order some books! This is always the most depressing time of year as money leaves your bank account for large, heavy, and (sometimes) boring books. 

The last thing I needed in order to be prepared for this semester was school supplies. For the last few years, I have been just winging it as the semester goes on, I figured it would be nice to go out and purchase a few new note books. So far so good!

-Elena

 

Leave a Reply

