5 Tips on How to Balance Your Life

10 Jan

If you are at all like me, you have a million different things happening in your life at once. You have classes to get to, a job to keep, friends to hang out with, homework to complete, laundry to do… after you balance all of that for awhile, your life seems like a swirling mass of routine chaos. But it doesn’t have to be that way! Here are 5 tips on how to maintain balance in your life.

Blog 7

1) Keep a Planner

I know that you have heard this one a million times before, but that is because it really does help. If you have everything written down, then you are less likely to forget something, and you can see how much time you have to relax.

Blog 9

2) Just Say No

It is okay to tell your friends you can’t hang out today because you have other things to do. They will understand! By doing this, you will have plenty of time to finish your paper and do your laundry without having to stay up until four in the morning.

Blog 2

3) Eat Healthier and Exercise

Sometime this can be tough because unhealthy food is so much cheaper and easier to come by, but even if you change out one unhealthy meal a day for a healthier one, you will start to see a change in your life. There are ways to eat healthy on campus, and there are services that can help you go off campus to get healthy foods as well.

There are a million places on campus to exercise. Trust me I know that exercising is exhausting, and you have a million things to do so you don’t have time to do it, but I have found that I actually have more energy after I exercise than I did before I started. Now I exercise before I go and start on my homework because I have found that it helps me focus.

Blog 3

4) Focus on Studies

Believe it or not, but you are actually at the University to get a degree, so you should probably focus on that. Yes, it is okay to have fun and go out with friends and assert your independence, but that’s not what you’re paying for. I know it isn’t always fun to stay in and do homework, but you’ll find that when you avoid procrastinating until the last minute, you understand more of what happens in class. Plus if you have no idea how to do your homework correctly, you have the chance to go in and talk to your professor, a chance that is lost if you wait until the very last minute.

Blog 4

5) Talk to Someone Outside of Tucson Regularly

Sometimes while we are at school, we forget that other things exist outside of campus life. By talking to someone outside of Tucson (whether it be a parent, a sibling, or friend) you will find that your problems seem a bit less overwhelming. An important thing to remember when doing this is that you shouldn’t spend the whole conversation talking about your problems at school…that kind of defeats the purpose.

Blog 5

Since doing all of these things I have found that my stress levels have gone way down, and my life seems much more balanced.

blog 8

– Christine Ellis

Leave a Reply

