Let it Go, Let it Go

10 Jan

New year, new you. Although the saying is overrated at this point you have to give it some credit, right? A new year and a new semester has arrived… which means more incentive to change! I don’t blame those who hesitate at the thought of change. Ridding yourself of stressful friendships, bad relationships, or certain behaviors can be frightening. You may not know what else is out there for you or if the change you make will be worth while. But take it from me, once you find a place where you can finally let go of what has been holding you back, the outcomes are rewarding. I hope you will join me in making this semester and this year one full of challenges and successes with the help of these two inside tips.

1) Learn how to be alone.

Sounds harsh I know, but hear me out. Many people experience the desire to avoid being alone, and we hold on to old relationships (be it platonic or romantic) because we like the thought of that relationship more than the reality of the relationship. Here’s a thought: if things don’t work out the first time and the struggle to make it work seems endless, let it go. It is okay to be alone for awhile. I call it the transition period, it’s a time when you figure things out for and about yourself. A time when you discover characteristics in yourself and others that you want to be around. With this, you will find yourself no longer second guessing the decisions you make.

Confidence

2) Follow your own path.

Who else is going to know what is best for you? One bad habit of mine is that I used to compare myself to others. “Why did they do that? Should I do what they did? I wonder if their method is more effective.” I would constantly second guess myself because of this. You have to realize that everyone follows their own beat, finding yours can seem challenging but why do things that do not help your own circumstances? There’s a saying my dad  always tells me: “there are not many leaders in this world, so I choose to follow myself”. Go for those random opportunities. Say no to things that hold you back!

No Gif

 

You cannot change what happened in the past, but you can definitely make a change for the better in the future. The lessons I learned from last semester alone brought me to introduce these two tips for you. You never know what is going to be thrown at you. You never know what obstacles you will have to face, but dealing with the whatever sure becomes a lot easier once you have harnessed your inner strengths.

Until next time,
Maddie

 

 

Leave a Reply

