#JumpStartJanuary: Getting My Life Together

16 Jan

January is always a difficult month because of all the things that need to be taken care of at the beginning of the year, such as saying goodbye to the family, moving back into my apartment, and starting school. This year was extremely unpleasant for me because of all the things I purchased over break, including a new TV, a recliner, a surround sound system, and lots of food (both guinea pig and human). This made for a fun (sarcasm intended) journey to Tucson. Doing the majority of my shopping in Phoenix was not the easiest option, but it was the most logical because of the limited time I had between moving in and starting work. My Jump Start January was filled with shopping and reorganizing my life before the semester started.

Having order in my life puts me at ease. I prefer to know my schedule and have all my necessary supplies before starting school. At the beginning of each semester, I stock up on guinea pic supplies, paper, hygiene products, school supplies, and non-perishable food. There is nothing worse than running out of shampoo or laundry detergent half way through the semester and not being able to get some right away. That is why I like to start early and get an excess amount of all the things I need before the semester begins.

I hate the stress that comes will procrastinating and starting school unprepared. Adding money to my meal plan, pre-ordering my textbooks, buying my Sun Link pass, and preparing my agenda are some of the first things I do when getting ready for school. Pre-ordering textbooks is the best thing ever! I can do it online and not have to worry about walking through the aisles with 50 other students. It may sound nerdy, but my agenda is my best friend. We go everywhere together and it never lets me down. Everything goes into my planner – my class and work schedule, when my bills are due, special events, and when I plan to visit my family. Since I am a creature of habit, having a set schedule before classes start is necessary to my survival.

Though the weeks leading up to the semester are hectic, all my planning and organizing ensures less stress as the semester progresses. There are some who prefer to prepare for things as they happen or along the way, but that doesn’t work for me. Knowing what works for you and then sticking to that method will save time and give you some peace of mind.

-Erika

Leave a Reply

