#JumpStartJanuary: Is It Time to Function Again?

21 Jan

Truth be told, I don’t have a defined way to jump start my semesters. They sort of just happen… most of the time without my approval or preparedness.

scream

This semester, however, I refuse to fall prey to the recurring cycle I’ve experienced for the past 3 years. This semester I will be prepared, I will be energized, and above all… ready to conquer it from day one!

bring

If I’ve learned anything from the 6 or 7 new college semesters I’ve experienced, it’s that I continually suffer from the.same.issues.every.time. And the following are what make me feel unprepared and dreading the beginning of the semester:

1. Screwed up sleep schedule

sleep

2. Clutter of emails and documents from the previous semesters

help

3. Bad eating habits developed throughout the break

giphy

4. Lack of necessary materials for upcoming courses

5. Lack of motivation

hehe

Don’t get me wrong… there are those semesters that I’m jumping up and down ready for the semester to begin. But quite frankly, I can already feel that this isn’t one of those semesters. Here’s my plan of action:

Dealing with a screwed up sleeping schedule

It seems that somehow during winter break our sleeping patterns get even more wrecked. Who knew that was possible?! Prior to winter break I would go to sleep around 1 in the morning and be up by 7 am, not too bad right? Now I go to sleep around 3 or 4 and wake up at 11am. I basically sleep through my mornings and sadly, this won’t fly with my schedule this semester. So time to buckle down and fix this madness.

The best way for me to fix this is simply by:

1) getting up at the crack of dawn wkae2) no naps (someone help me!)

3) physical activity to drain my energy out

4) sleeping before 11pm (are you kidding me???)

Simple enough right? Not really. Last night I gave it a go… was in bed by 10pm, teeth brushed and in pjs, but I had my phone in my hand. And that made all the difference. Needless to say, I occupied my time with anything and everything that Instagram and Pinterest had to provide so I actually went to bed at midnight. On the bright side, I know now how to make some fun decorations for my dorm room. To continue this failed attempt, this morning I set my alarm for 7am. This is what I did… saw it, groaned, turned it off, and went back to sleep. Next alarm went off at 7:30am. This time I got smart about it and turned all of the alarms off. At 10am I was up officially, which will mess with my bedtime tonight.

Dealing with the clutter of the past

This one sounds intimidating and let me tell you it is! I am one of those individuals who in fear of needing something in the future hoards materials from past semesters. I can’t bear the idea of throwing away the notes I worked so hard on throughout the semester. So I have binders and binders of notes, tests, and handouts that I will more than likely never ever use again! Same thing goes for my catmail. I have kept emails that I believed to be crucial and now I am at about almost a 1000 some emails in my inbox. Mind you some of these emails are not so much based on relevance, but on whether I ignored them or not and I’ve ignored quite a good amount of them in the past 6 months.

Screen Shot 2015-01-07 at 2.55.27 PM

So to fix this one… I simply need to sit my butt down at my laptop and go through everything and delete, DELETE, DELETE! No other way around it. You’ll find that my desktop also needs some tidying up, so that will be an adventure to undertake within the next couple of days.

delete

Dealing with bad eating habits

I can’t fully blame the break for this one, but I can definitely say it contributed to it extensively. All those tamales, menudo, pies, hot chocolate, and so many more amazing goodies that come with the holidays and being home definitely have further put me in an unhealthy place in my life. With this one, I’ve already started: smoothies for breakfast, no junk food (or at least less), and healthier meals. You might find this one hard to do, but honestly this one I am more than ready to undergo. After all that bad food my body has become nauseated with the idea of these foods and it actually craves something healthy. The beautiful thing is that with the change in diet it in turn changes my energy and focus levels. Bring on the excessive spinach and kale!
ha

Dealing with lack of necessary materials 

My plan: go to the store and buy it! Textbook? Buy it or rent it.

I simply need to get on to d2l and blackboard and look into the syllabi to see what I need.

Dealing with lack of motivation

Usually for this one it is a process of epic proportions. Truth is I am a very determined and motivated person most of the time, but depending on the environment and stimuli around me…I can become less than motivated. Even more truth is that being at home isn’t necessarily a place of stimulation or challenge. If anything, it relaxes me too much! Never thought the day would come where I felt too relaxed. This is what I must do: look at course materials, get on campus, start working on any possible assignment I can, and start to believe that I can mentally function at the college level again! I just need to get back to an environment that stimulates me and going back to the dorm will do that for me.

Winter break can bring the best of the best and the worst of the worst. I find that for me it has had both effects, but with the experiences of the past I will plan more effectively for the beginning of this semester to make sure that I am not once again taken by surprise! Like I said, this time I will be prepared, I will be energized for it, and above all… ready to conquer it from day one! Bring it Spring 2015!

 

“Success depends upon previous preparation, and without such preparation there is sure to be failure,” –Confucius

 – Lucero

Leave a Reply

