#JumpstartJanuary: Reflection

22 Jan

Spring semester is upon us people! While we are currently experiencing the calm before the storm, let’s reflect on what brought us to where we are today. In this past semester alone I have learned so much about myself that I didn’t know I had in me. I am hoping you have experienced the same.

Looking back on last semester what were some things you would change? I bet you’ve heard that question over a hundred times! But really, reflection is a good thing. How do  you want to start off the new year and semester? Consider some of your struggles and successes and use that energy to start off prepared for anything that will come your way.

When I look back on my last semester, I like to compare it to a ball of yarn all bunched up together with pieces going in every direction. Needless to say I missed out on a lot of opportunities. BUT with a little reflection and some set goals we can make the semester a great one!

1) SLEEP

Sleep, it really is a good thing! That’s why so many stress about it so much! One of several reasons why I was not able to concentrate on my work was because I felt like always passing out. Over time, little sleep took a toll on me, then I lost all energy to study, prepare for the next day, or even speak at times. We have all been there, feeling like a zombie (without the desire for flesh and blood) and just breezing through the day with no recollection of any material or events.

Goal: Set a reasonable bedtime. It sounds unrealistic but consider how you will feel through out the day after a full night sleep. My goal is to be in bed by 10-10:30 at the latest. If  you feel like staying up when you don’t have to, just think of those days of running off of 4-5 hours of sleep. NOT FUN!

2) Focusing on YOU

Be selfish. Yup, I said it. Care for others but don’t forget to help yourself as well. If you are anything like me, you’re always lending a helping a hand to your friends and family but then putting aside your own struggles. CALM YO’SELF! I found that burying my stresses and avoiding dealing with them really left me feeling worse physically and mentally. It’s great to be a part of a friend’s support system, but at the end of the day consider your needs too.

Goal: Sometimes heroes need saving. You are not obligated to do things you do not want to do. Set some standards with yourself and mention them to your friends. The late night In-N-Out trips can wait… well, sometimes. Have a happy medium. Do not be afraid to have your own support group!

3) EXERCISE

I will admit, those morning bike rides kicked my butt last semester! I was a 3-sport athlete in high school, so starting college with a not-so physically active schedule hit me hard. Every now and then I would exercise when I could, but eventually I stopped. For me exercising and playing team sports really relieve my stress. Between little sleep, avoiding my own problems, and hardly exercising, my energy went from 100 to 0 real quick. I found that once I started exercising again my vision cleared a bit.

Goal: Start off with at least 30 minutes of exercising. You can run, bike, walk, lift weights (carefully)… anything! I plan to exercise at least 4 times a week just to have time to recharge my mind and body.

 I hope these goals will help you consider some of your own! Whether it be a new year or semester, don’t be afraid to make the necessary changes needed in your lifestyle. Change is good!

Until next time,
Maddie

Leave a Reply

