#JumpStartJanuary: Clean Sweep

26 Jan

A new year is an amazing time for a clean start. Many people start off the year by making a new years resolution to better themselves. Instead of creating a new years resolution, which I would never stick to, I decided to clean house.

200-7

Throughout the years I had kept so much stuff: clothes, bags, shoes, school papers, and just general junk. Instead of throwing all of this stuff away when I didn’t want it any more, I kept it saying, “I will wear this again” or “This will come in handy one day.” I was so wrong. Now had this closet at my parent’s house looking like something out of Hoarders. Not only did I have this closet filled with out of date things, I had old presents and mementos from my recent break up, all of which needed to be cleaned out.

giphy-16

I felt that the cluttered things in my life were keeping me from moving on, almost like they are chaining me to my past. By cleaning out and getting rid of all of the things I didn’t need was a way for me to break away from the past.

200-8

This turned out to be a bigger task then I thought.

IMG_4672

After days of throwing out everything that was too worn down or ragged, I ended up with several bags to donate.

IMG_4676

Not only was I able to free myself from the chains of my past, but I was able to appreciate my past. I took a look back at some of my favorite outfits, favorite stuffed animals, old books, and old journals, and appreciate all of the phases I went through and got past. The awkward middle school phase filled Hollister apparel and braces. I was able to get rid of my high school P.E. uniform and realize how much I do miss mandatory physical exercise.

200-1

I was holding on to all of these memories, but it was time to let them go. I will never forget the things that I learned, but I could now move on and grow.

img-thing

-Laura

Leave a Reply

