Stay True, Stay You

5 Feb

At some point in our lives, we face hardships with the ones we care about the most. How do you face conflict or uncertainty with your friends, roommates, or significant other? The truth is, you have to stay honest and really stay true to yourself.

I recently came across an insightful post from Phylicia Rashad. The post stressed independent discovery. In other words, you have to put yourself and your development first. Now that is not to say to shut out your support system. In fact our support systems help us in our growth and development more than we think. One section of the post really had me thinking. 

“Everything you do, every thought you have, every word you say creates a memory that you will hold in your body. It’s imprinted on you and affects you in subtle ways.”

Take the time to really reflect on these words. When we face challenges within our relationships think about how you as a person of your beliefs and stance will handle them. Now especially, we are going to have to deal with bad experiences. It is within the journey of finding our selves.

I recently had to walk away from an unhealthy romantic relationship. For years I felt trapped between making him, my friends, and my parents happy. It wasn’t until recently that I finally realized trying to keep up with everyone’s needs distracted me from my own. I wasn’t becoming the person I was striving to be. Once I stood my ground with my boyfriend at the time and my friends, I finally felt free. I refused to let such struggles leave a negative imprint on me. You will find that once you stand up for yourself, those who respect you will stay. Those that don’t, will leave. Sounds harsh but the truth of the matter is you need to surround yourself with people that will help and support your development.

If you are in the process of trying to juggle your relationship with your significant other, roommate(s), friends, or parents take the time to really listen to your inner voice. It is okay to not know the answer, but that is why so many stress to take care of yourself first. You will discover hardships are easier to handle once you find your own truths and justices. Find things that will reflect a secure imprint on you and that will soon be noticed by those around you.

Until next time,

Maddie

One Response to “Stay True, Stay You”

  1. prethics14 February 13, 2015 at 12:45 PM #

    An interesting read – I agree that the best way to resolve conflict is to stay true to yourself and your own beliefs, because if you hold feelings back it’ll only get worse the more it builds up!

    While I feel that sometimes it’s good to compromise and collaborate with others in order to reach a resolution, in the long run it’s definitely better to be honest. From my own experience, whenever I’ve bottled things up for too long without addressing the issue it’s only got worse. As you said, the people that matter are the ones that respect you for being yourself 🙂

    It’s not quite the same topic, but my blog discusses different approaches to conflict management as well as ethical issues surrounding certain topics – feel free to have a read and get involved with some discussions if you would like!

Leave a Reply

