#FearlessFebruary: Wherefore Art Thou Workshop?

16 Feb

I would like to think that I have come a long way, confidence wise, since I was in high school. Now, I’m not speaking “confidence” in terms of talking to the cutest boy in class, or asking an employee for help finding something in the store. I’m talking about those dreadful assignments that required us to get up in front of the classroom and talk. In my earlier years, I was one of those students who had to write down their speech, word for word, on a stack of note cards, and lost my place having to glance up at the students and back down to my cards every other second. As time went on, I learned that I was better off just “going off the cuff” and everything suddenly became easier. And by this I mean, doing my research but not having what I want to say planned out exactly word for word. Knowing my stuff, then presenting it to the class like I would when talking to a friend. It made speaking in front of large groups of people a lot less nerve-racking.

But when I learned that leading workshops was going to be a part of my job this spring semester, those feelings of panic came rushing back. Though leading workshops didn’t have that element of trying to earn an A, I still wanted students to like me, as weird as that may sound. I didn’t want them to be constantly checking their phones praying for time to move faster. I want to present information in a way that will make them enjoy their 50 minutes with me, and look forward to coming again the following week.

When my time to lead my very first workshop came, I was nervous, but not as much as I thought I would be. It actually went a lot smoother than I expected! I even ended up having one of the bigger groups of workshop students, but they were all really nice to me. They clicked with one another during the icebreakers a lot faster than I thought they would, and since there was an odd number of people I even got to join in! It was really great 🙂

All in all, I was honestly worried for nothing. I loved meeting my students, and listening to what they have to say. Ultimately, my goal is for each of them to feel like they can ask me about anything and that they can approach me whenever they need help. Though I don’t get to have 1:1 meetings with these students, I still want them to see me as another one of their mentors. And though I was unable to lead two of my workshops already this semester, I’m going to do my very best to make a lasting impression with these students and hopefully make up for my obnoxiously long absence.

Cheers,

Casey

Leave a Reply

