#FearlessFebruary: Spinach Style

17 Feb

I get made fun of for this, but the main categories of foods I consumed for a long time were chicken, cheese, breads, and potatoes. I limited myself because I was afraid to try new things, afraid to experiment with food and learn ways to be a healthier adult. However, the past few months have been eye-opening for me.

For one, I ate salad for the first time in 15 years. I had this extreme hatred of lettuce. When sandwich party platters are served, I can’t eat them. I order my tacos from restaurants without the lettuce and tomato. The smell of ranch is not a pleasant one to me. So, I had a bit of a “YOLO” moment, as I thought to myself “What the heck? Everyone eats it, it can’t be that bad.” That happened at a family dinner at Buca di Beppo with a chicken Caesar salad. I discovered I like balsamic vinaigrette, a healthier alternative. I now buy salad every other week. It’s a step. It’s a big step for vegetable-less Sarah.

My next thought was horrifying: I should try spinach. Ew. Spinach was something I had definitely never consumed in my life. But, I went for it. And to do so, I would need to stuff it into one of my favorite foods. I got all of the ingredients listed in a magazine full of recipes for a spinach-stuffed chicken entree. I bought frozen spinach, 3 chicken breasts, tomato paste, and couscous. This was also my first time eating couscous. I felt so adventurous.

IMG_5925

It took awhile for the chicken to cook because I had it in the freezer. I had to saute it on the stove for a couple of minutes, cut a slit down the middle of each breast, and stuff the spinach (after being heated up in the microwave) into each breast. I lined the baking pan with the tomato paste mixed with oregano, salt, and pepper. I placed each spinach-stuffed chicken breast in the pan, and let it cook.

IMG_5928

I got to enjoy my lovely meal while watching Parenthood. I felt proud of myself and am excited for my next vegetable endeavor…Brussels sprouts. Well OK, I am not so excited for that one. Brussels sprouts are a vegetable that people notoriously complain about. Wish me luck!

–Sarah

Leave a Reply

