#FearlessFebruary: Fearless Interviews

27 Feb

For my #FearlessFebruary I decided to face on of my biggest fears: rejection. I wanted to start a new chapter in my life and to do that I had to look for new opportunities. I needed something new, something to look forward to and get excited about. Don’t get me wrong, I love the life I live now, but I needed to move forward rather than stay constant. I decided to apply for three different positions I thought I would want.

giphy-18

The first position I applied for was to be a Resident Assistant (RA) for the dorms. The second position I applied for was for the Maximizing Access to Research Careers program or the MARC program. And finally I am going to apply to volunteer at some of the hospitals around Tucson. I had been going back and forth about applying to be an RA for months. Would I have the time? Would I be good at it? Would they want me to be an RA? Finally I just filled out the application and turned it in. It was such a rush! I put myself out there for something I thought I would be great at. As my interview date approached I became more and more nervous. The pool of applicants was extremely large and extremely competitive. How could I possibly surpass all of these amazing people who all wanted the job? I wanted to have this amazingly successful interview, but I was so nervous that I didn’t prepare well enough. My interview consisted of questions that I had never thought about and in turn I came off as extremely generic. My interview went horribly, and I didn’t end up getting that job.200-13

I was now focused on doing well in my next interview. This program was also incredibly competitive and I had to submit the perfect application. I wrote and rewrote the answers to the questions, just trying to make it perfect. Two days after I had turned in my application, I got a call back to participate in the interview round. I was ecstatic, very few people make it to the interview round. I then had to participate in one of the scariest interviews I have ever had. It was with the Director, Assistant Director, and three head doctors running the program. I was terrified. That interview went much better than the RA interview, but unfortunately I was not accepted into the program. It was an incredible honor to even be part of the interview as there had been 40 applications and only 16 people participated in interviews.

200-15

Now I am currently working on applying to hospitals around the area. Even though I haven’t been very lucky with the positions I have applied for, I am so happy that I have tried. I thought that being rejected would be the worst thing in the entire world, but it’s not. Just because you didn’t get something this time, doesn’t mean there won’t be a next time.200-14

-Laura Hacker

Leave a Reply

