#FearlessFebruary: Supernatural Dreams Do Come True

28 Feb

My love affair with the Winchester Boys spans almost a decade, and shows no sign of subsiding. Though I was only 11 years old when Supernatural premiered in 2005, I was hooked from the very first scene. It had everything – horror, suspense, tragedy, heroism and love. I remember sitting down in front of the TV every Tuesday night to watch this ruggedly handsome damaged duo prove their bravery and save the world by “ganking” one monster at a time.

Being a part of the Supernatural Fandom can be exasperating at times, because people usually don’t understand my emotional investment in “fictional” characters, or, much like Castiel, they don’t understand my references. I get funny looks when I laugh at the word “pudding,” or talk about how much I like Cain and wish God would get off his butt. In the world outside Supernatural, people question my sanity. There have been many victories over the last 9.5 seasons, as well as many earth shattering catastrophes. I have been there for all of them. The Winchesters have become part of my life, always reminding me to keep fighting the good fight, no matter how insurmountable my foes seem. I am a Supernatural fangirl and I can get through anything.

This February, I had the amazing opportunity to attend a Supernatural Convention and meet the men of my dreams-Jensen Ackles (Dean), Jared Padalecki (Sam), Misha Collins (Castiel), Rob Benedict (God), Richard Speight Jr. (Gabriel), and Matt Cohen (Young John Winchester). The weeks leading up to the convention were filled with mini panic attacks that would get my heart racing with excitement and leave me too shaken to even process real life. My journey to meeting the Men of Supernatural was 10 years in the making, and the moment was finally here.

The first 2 days of the convention were a blur of excitement. Seeing Rob Benedict (Chuck Shurley, Carver Edlund, God) on stage all weekend was one of my favorite parts . He was so electric and his sense of humor just resonated with me. Richard Speight Jr. (the Trickster/Gabriel) was an amazing host, he knew exactly how to get us pumped. Gil McKinney (Henry Winchester), Osric Chau (Kevin), Mark Sheppard (Crowley), Mark Pellegrino (Lucifer), Sebastian Roche (Balthazar), and Lauren Tom (Linda Tran) were all fantastic too. They were witty, engaging, and kind. There were 3 key moments during the Convention that pushed me outside my comfort zone to do something courageous.

On Saturday, I had the opportunity to meet Matt Cohen – young John Winchester. Waiting in line for Matt was nerve wracking. He has only been on the show for a few episodes, and I had never fostered a crush for him, but inching closer and closer to him in line was insane. His panel had been magnificent and I had fallen for him. When I got to the table, I could not contain it any more and I said “you are beautiful”, at which point he said thank you and we stared into each others eyes for 4 seconds before he shyly looked down and finished signing my shirt. This was one of the most insane moments ever! I almost got lost in his eyes. I am surprised I was brazen enough to tell him that and then stare at him without turning away. I walked away feeling invincible and shaken at the same time. My adrenaline was pumping so hard, it was all I could do not to scream.

Sunday began with me meeting Jensen. I was running late, and I was afraid that I wouldn’t make it on time. Thankfully I did. Entering the room, my anxiety did not peak. Instead I felt a steady calm – looking back, it might have been shock. Waiting for him to turn and look at me was killer, but finally those green eyes met mine and I nearly keeled over. I was out of my mind brave when I walked up to him and said “damn you are beautiful”. He chuckled and incredulously said “I’m beautiful?” At which point, I replied “yes”. He goes “well I play Dean”, and “I know” was all I could get out. I then explained my photo op idea. He was going hold me and my friend was going to try to pull him away. What happened next was pure insanity. He wrapped his arms around me and I knew he could feel me shaking. We took our photo and he hugged us goodbye and I still could not believe what had happened. My legs felt like putty as I raced out of there and found a place to sit down. The shaking did not completely go away for a good half hour, but the serene feeling remained much longer.

jensen

My last photo-op was scheduled with Misha, Jensen, and Jared. Waiting for my boys was like being in the pit with Lucifer. My hands were shaking and the butterflies that were permanently in my stomach since the day began had turned into pterodactyls. They walked in and I almost lost my head! When it was finally our turn, I confidently walked right up to Misha, then Jared, then Jensen and hugged them. All of them smelled magnificent, but Jensen really did smell like home. I then gathered them around me and choreograph our positions. We all grouped together and took our perfect picture. When it was over, I said bye and looked once more into Jensen’s eyes.

j2m

My weekend was exhausting-physically and emotionally, but every moment was worth it. It was one of the most spectacular experiences of my life. I was courageous and played it cool. I am proud that I pulled myself together long enough to cherish every second I spent with them.

-Fangirl Erika

Leave a Reply

