#MiddlingMarch: Elena’s Day Off

9 Mar

Let just come out and say it… this semester has been HARD! I know we have all been strugglin’ which is why when I got sick at the beginning of the month, I was NOT happy. I pride myself on not skipping class or work unless something huge happens, and this illness was HUGE.

The first Monday of the month, I found myself struggling to breathe as I lay in bed (I won’t bore you or gross you out with all of my symptoms of that day — but a lot was going on). 

giphy-3

That day was the closest thing to a “personal day*” I have taken in a LOONNNNGGGG time! *Urban Dictionary defines “personal day” as a phrase used by college students when they decide to skip all their classes for a day.

I wouldn’t say laying in bed all day because you are a ball of virus is all it’s cracked up to be or what someone should do on a day off, but it was wonderful. I took the day to sleep, relax, and try to force myself to feel better. It wasn’t my cure… but it helped. 

Taking those days to relax and recharge are crucial to maintain your health and happiness throughout tough times. Utilize your weekends for this… after all, personal days can be dangerous! 

giphy-4

–Elena 

Leave a Reply

