#MiddlingMarch: Breathe in the Wild Air

10 Apr

Let’s be real. By spring break, the majority of us were mentally fried. Just ready for a break. Personally, the week before spring break I couldn’t even think straight.

patrick

All I cared about was a week away from classes, homework, work, research, and even campus (which is kind of sad considering the fact I live on campus).

So in my desire to get away from all of it I fled to the one place that has never let me down: nature.

My plan, originally, had been to behold the beauty of our very own Niagara-style falls here in Arizona: Grand Falls or Chocolate Falls. However, my lack of planning for this journey resulted in a fail as we couldn’t go. Apparently, they require a permit to go visit them and well, I didn’t get one. Should have listened to my girlfriend earlier in the month when she was nagging me about looking into the visit more in-depth.

patrick

So me being the brilliant planner that I am, paired with the fact that we were already up in Flagstaff and probably shouldn’t waste the opportunity, I mustered a Plan B. Don’t want to toot my own horn, but let me just say this plan was genius!

We ended up going to Oak Creek Canyon, halfway between Sedona and Flagstaff. So the trip down to the actual trail we were undertaking was a beautiful, winding drive down. The scenery was beyond breathtaking! See for yourself:

 IMAG1767

We started off strong! I had my new hiking boots on and was ready to take on the world (or this trail)!

 

IMAG1771

At the very beginning we crossed a lovely bridge. I was obsessed with the bridge and this one tree at the end of it, so I took a picture on the way back.

IMAG1804

There were also some ruins of a lodge that had been there in the past. Pretty sweet pictures came from that.

 IMAG1778

As we got closer to the actual starting point, we encountered this sign:

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 8.58.50 AM

I don’t know about you, but I ain’t about to fight a bear.

So we went on and on, crossing the creek several times (we did 9 out of the 13 crossings in total). Remember those new boots I mentioned earlier? Well, they were waterproof and that made me ever so happy! My girlfriend, on the other hand, wasn’t so stoked about crossing the creek in her sneakers. Sucks to suck.

About 3 miles in, we decided maybe completing the hike that day wouldn’t happen. It was already 4:30pm and the sun would start setting soon making it dark and cold. So we turned back. We finished around 6:00pm as the sun set. On the way back, I took a million more pictures.

PicMonkey Collage

After leaving the trail, we decided to hit up Sedona. I LOVE SEDONA! The beautiful rocks, the artsy environment, and the awesome food! I am determined to retire there when I am older.

 IMAG1822

That same day we drove to Phoenix, where we managed to meet up with my best friend, and explore some fun places there.

PicMonkey Collage

Later on in the week, I went to the Catalina Mountains for some good ole camping and some restoration volunteer work. This was part of the Honors College Alternative Spring Break, so this was a great experience to learn about nature, help it out, and bond with a great group of friends!

PicMonkey Collage

So as you can see nature is my form of rejuvenation. I am absolutely happiest when immersed in nature and I am more than okay with that! Find your passion and happy travels 🙂

-Lucero

 

– Lucero

Leave a Reply

