#AdventurousApril: SHOWing off.

13 Apr

I’ve taken on something very adventurous this April, something I definitely didn’t see myself doing at the beginning of the semester.

I’m part of a production of “The Caucasian Chalk Circle” written by Bertolt Brecht, here at the University of Arizona.

The production is part of the School of Theatre, Film & Television’s Studio Series.

The Studio Series consists of a “bare-essentials” series of 4 plays that are meant to spark a conversation throughout the UA community with its thought-provoking pieces.

Performed in a black box space, the shows are experimental, interesting, and straight to the point.

unbreakable kimmy schmidt animated GIF

The Studio Series is a great opportunity for any student who would like to work with Theatre while in college, regardless of what your major is.

Any student can audition for any of the four shows.

You don’t have to be a professional.

The simplistic and contemporary nature of the series makes it a welcoming environment to be part of.

unbreakable kimmy schmidt animated GIF

This is an amazing, great opportunity for me. This is an opportunity for me to do something I love to do: perform.

I’m someone who has always loved theatre and performing, but I’ve had some issues finding opportunities that are right for me around the UA area.

Luckily, being part of this show worked perfectly for me and I’m very excited.

unbreakable kimmy schmidt animated GIF

It was interesting to completely immerse myself into rehearsals at the beginning of our work on the show. I hadn’t worked on a show since high school, so it was a challenge to get back into the swing of theatre.

At first, I would feel a little tired on my way to rehearsals, after an entire day of work and school. I had never realized how much students often do throughout a day, and how tiring it can be to be around campus all day.

I felt odd being on campus so late. I was used to getting to the UA, going to class, going to work, then leaving.

unbreakable kimmy schmidt animated GIF

But after a few days I started to realize how amazing this opportunity was for me. And I haven’t looked back since!

I truly recommend students out there to do something adventurous this April, and every month!

Do something out of your comfort zone, prove a point, achieve a goal.

Now’s the time.

See you at the show!

the lion king animated GIF

-Julian

Leave a Reply

