#AdventurousApril: Adventure is What You Make of It!

20 Apr

As it may be apparent by this point this month was about adventure! But what adventure can come out of April?? All there is is school, school, and more school! Unlike other peer mentors, I wasn’t the star of a show nor did I roller skate my way to epicness… I simply lived and that’s an adventure we sometimes forget to have.

What do I mean adventure in living? We all are alive, breathing, and going. Think about it. A lot of us go day-by-day just performing our daily routine in hopes of getting through without much mental effort. Most days consists of just routine. How often do you stop and appreciate a beautiful flower or stroll through the grass with no shoes on just for pleasure?

If you’re anything like me, a senior with 100+ commitments and little time for anything, you usually just get things done and don’t do much for personal pleasure until the weekend. But why live like that?

So my personal adventure for the month of April was to do things that I loved to do and not because I have to do them.

1. Pictures of the beautiful flowers blooming. Seriously, take a second and just look at them!

PicMonkey Collage

2. Walking on the grass barefoot. Best, most relaxing feeling ever!

11026324_932773406762396_4264239004974359404_o

 

3. Diamondbacks game. What more can I say?

PicMonkey Collage

 

4. Crafts! This was both a personal as well as an RA-related task. Either way, very invigorating!

PicMonkey Collage

5. Tucson Botanical Gardens! I walked through a room filled with butterflies 🙂

PicMonkey Collage

6. Nature walks with my favorite boy, Keeno.

PicMonkey Collage

7. Spring Fling 😀 All that food and the rides were definitely a great break from routine!

PicMonkey Collage

Yes, these are subtle things to do that don’t necessarily induce fear or excitement, but the importance in adventure is not the extremity, but how you alive you feel! All these activities rejuvenated my being and made me realize the beauty of being alive, breathing the wild air. These adventures help me conquer routine. Find whatever adventure suits you, whether it’s big or small… and just live!

– Lucero

 

Leave a Reply

