#AdventurousApril: I’m Going to South Korea!

24 Apr

Coming into college, I knew that at some point I would want to study abroad. However, seeing as I have only ever been to Mexico the idea of going overseas seemed like a pipe dream to me. Given that it is my sophomore year, I thought I would give it a shot and apply for a summer program in (wait for it)…SOUTH KOREA!

jeollanamdo

The application process was a long one, but definitely well worth the wait. I am extremely excited to be given the opportunity to go to a country that is so vibrant in its culture and explore what it has to offer. Although this program will be taking place in the summer, I thought I would take advantage of this #AdventurousApril blog and share some of the things that I most excited about!

1. Going on a plane for the first time!

plane

“I have never been on a plane before” usually when I say this to someone they are utterly surprised and question how I have gone 20 years without ever being on a plane. My response: I don’t know! However, this is all going to change soon enough. After doing some general research, I found that the flight from where I am to South Korea is about 16 hours (yikes!), so I will have more than enough experience when I get back. I am also excited about those airplane peanuts I keep hearing about.

2. The food!

korean food

No surprise, that one of the things that I would be most excited about is the food! I have watched enough Korean dramas over the past year to know that Korean food definitely looks yummy. But out of all the things I have seen, I am most excited to try kimchi (a traditional fermented side dish made of vegetables and seasonings) and any street food that I happen to get my hands on.

3. The pop culture

hands up

South Korea is one of the most thriving countries at the moment in terms of its pop culture. The music has traveled overseas and some Kpop albums have even made it to the United States’ top 100 charts! I’m not going to lie, I find myself listening to Korean music a lot more than any other genre. Along with the music, the drama produced and distributed in South Korea have made quite an impression in different countries. These dramas are anywhere from 12-22 hour long episodes that introduce characters that you can’t help but fall in love with. The writing may be a bit cheesy at times, but that’s what makes them lovable! I want to see how Korea’s pop culture is celebrated compared to our own.

4. The language

hangul_v

Being bilingual in Spanish and English, I have never had to struggle in terms of communication. Now going to a country where I only know certain words and phrases in that language excites me, but also frightens me greatly. The more I look into Korean as a language, the more fascinated I become in the way it is written and spoken. I have made it a personal goal to start learning the language and at least become more familiar with it.

5. Seoul, South Korea

seoul

Seoul is the capital of South Korea. Being one of the largest and most populated cities in the world, Seoul is full of life and culture. With museums, street markets and unique stores, Seoul is on the top of my list. Although I will be staying in Jeollanam-do Province, I will be taking a 2 day 3 night excursion to Seoul!

6. The people

Perhaps one the things I am most excited for is meeting new people. I love making new friends and having the opportunity to make friends that are across the world is surreal!

Overall I can’t wait to embark on this adventure and see what Korea has in store for me!

-Zuri

Leave a Reply

