Calm, Cool, and Connected

1 May

I’ve been struggling a lot with staying sane during this stressful time in our lives. So I am going to be mostly writing the wise words of wisdom that have been bestowed upon me, oh so recently.

In case any of you are currently dealing with matters that are preventing you from making it to class or completing assignments on time, I am totally with you! These past two weeks have been the worst 2 weeks that I have experienced in this semester. Perfect timing, right? I have had two emergency room visits and one ambulance ride within the past 8 days. If you’re currently caught in a similar pickle, may I just remind you how wonderful doctor’s notes are?! They’ve been really saving my butt, and more often than not, your instructors will be very understanding 🙂

Also, the Dean of Students Office will lend you a helping hand concerning similar issues.

But as the semester really starts winding down, it seems like all of our classes suddenly become a make it or break it type situation (yeesh!). Trust me, you’re not alone, we are all here for you. And by “we” I mean, your instructors, your TA’s, your peer mentors, your friends…the list can go on! My point is, as long as we stick together and help each other out, we WILL survive! You should also give this list a read…

  1. BREATHE…inhale…exhale…inhale…exhale…
  2. Have you eaten anything yet? Grab a snack (after you’re done reading this of course) you deserve it!
  3. How many hours of sleep are you getting? If your exhausted, studying will be THAT much more laborious. And if changing your sleeping patterns is too much to ask, feel free to take a nap my friend.
  4. Write everything down, and I mean EVERYTHING. Write down what assignments you need to complete, the dates they’re due, when each of your finals will take place, and block out time for studying and time for relaxing 🙂
  5. Look to your friends, because they’re probably freaking out a little bit too. Vent to each other about it! Have study sessions, grab yummy food as a reward for all of your hard work. It’s never fun to suffer in silence.
  6. And try to remember, if you don’t get the grade that you wanted, it is NOT the end of the world. I know that it may not seem like that now, but trust me, you will be fine. There are plethora of opportunities to bring you back into the game.
  7. BREATHE…inhale…exhale…inhale…exhale…

Best,

Casey

Leave a Reply

