#MightyMay: A Summer in Tucson

6 May

The end of the semester, the end of the academic year is upon us people! How am I celebrating the end of the semester? With. More. School.

Clooney

Yes, I know… when will I have time for a break?! I will be taking a course during presession that will go towards my Spanish minor. In all honesty, I am looking forward to the course’s curriculum simply because it will help keep my Spanish speaking skills on point! Although at this point the only thing I want to do is nap and cuddle with my favorite blanket, one more course wouldn’t hurt? Right?

freaked out

This is where the whole “think positive” concept comes in. My fear is whether or not I will pass the class but will I even have the enough bit of motivation left in me to go through another course right after completing spring semester? Then I think,

“Maddie, it’s only 3 weeks chill out!” At least that’s what I have been telling myself for the past week.

I do however have a month long break until I take another course! While we all dream of extravagant vacations and “the best summer of our lives” there are times where you just have to take care of business. And if that means taking two courses of the summer, then so be it. We all have to do it at some point in our lives plus I always have to be busy, keeps me entertained.

By now you’re probably thinking my summer is going to suck but don’t be fooled I have a few ideas of fun up my sleeve. For starters, I plan on heading to San Diego with my best pals and just relax the days away. It’s not too far, and not too close. Plus a nice tan wouldn’t hurt either! There’s nothing like a cool breeze and the feeling of warm sand between your toes.

SD

Last but certainly not least, I recently acquired an internship position here at the university’s McKale Center! It’s been a goal of mine to have the opportunity to work with Arizona athletics in some shape or form. Luckily, there are some summer openings available and you already know I like staying busy!

I have high hopes for this summer. I plan on completing those last few courses and getting back to my normal fitness routine (maybe amping it up a bit). Most importantly, I am looking forward to another summer to take the time and reflect on the previous year. I still cannot believe I completed my second year of college! Boy does time fly.

So, if you are staying in good ol’ Tucson this summer, don’t get discouraged. Reflect, unwind, and use the time to strengthen yourself up for another memorable year at the U of A!

All best,

Maddie

Leave a Reply

