#MightyMay: Countdown to Graduation

6 May

Graduation is around the corner, and I must say that I am going to miss The University of Arizona terribly. It has been a hard adjustment, trying to think of myself not at the school that I love so dearly. To prepare myself for the big day, I have been working on a one month countdown video. I graduate on May 16th, so on April 16th, I began filming with a different friend, pair, or group of friends every day. With each friend, I film a 10-15 second clip of something either on campus or somewhere central to our friendship, and do something that was of relevance or funny to us as friends.

My first day of filming, I filmed with another Peer Mentor, Erica, and her boyfriend. We felt silly filming, but it ended up being a lot of fun. I have known Erica since my sophomore year living in Arbol de la Vida, and it has been a joy working with her this year. We filmed her parts in the vault and the stairwell of the Nugent basement.

 Screen Shot 2015-04-29 at 4.59.20 PM

Screen Shot 2015-04-29 at 5.02.12 PM

At first, I had no idea what to expect from the project. I thought it was very uncool as I did mini skits with each person. However, it has ended up being a lifesaver for me. When I feel sad or down about my impending entrance into the real world, I watch myself laugh and smile with all of my friends I have made in college, and remember that I have been blessed to have an amazing undergraduate experience. I will always have The University of Arizona in my life, as well as the memory of the wonderful friendships, and it has given me the strength to get through the ending of my chapter. I know the next chapter, although unknown at this current moment, will be another amazing one because the U of A has undoubtedly prepared me for life’s challenges and opportunities.

 Screen Shot 2015-04-29 at 5.00.51 PM

The picture above is me and a student from my first year as a Peer Advisor, who during her sophomore year became a Peer Advisor as well and also my friend. I am excited to debut my video to friends and family the day after graduation, on May 17th 🙂

–Sarah

Leave a Reply

